Help on a family dairy farm near Sauðárkrókur, Iceland

Country

Iceland

updated  

Favourited 931 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    574

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6, but we are only 2 living here at home, Gestur (60) and Jóna (61).
    This is a dairy farm (with a robotic milker) , located in the north west and is about 50 km from Sauðárkrókur. We have two very friendly shepherd dogs. Our farm is mostly based on the dairy farm which has around 60 milking cows but we also have 200 sheep that need tending, specially in the spring during lamb season.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying here in the north is a very peaceful experience, lot of nature and interesting arctic conditions. Great auroras in the winter time and snow guaranteed! For most people a very special experience.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone who can help us around the farm. Milking, feeding and take care of the sheep. We go two times a day to milk and feed the cows, 7 am. and around 5 pm. We have a robot who takes care of the milking and also a robot for feeding the calves milk.
    We also need help with the typical summer tasks, like hey making and repairing fences.
    We need a help in May-June in particular because of lamb season. Summer is much more busy than wintertime.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a house with 6 bedrooms and the helper will have his own bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The north of Iceland is a beautiful place and there is a lot to see. There are a lot of museums, Akureyri is about 170 km away and the most famous swimming pool in Iceland is about 15 km from the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Reliable connection over a dedicated optical fiber cable 100 Mps +

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    different between days (5 hour max)












Host ref number: 123255286531