1 / 5
updated  

Join our busy outdoors family in Vanderhoof, BC, Canada

  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our family. There is 6 of us in the house. My husband and myself plus our 4 children aged 8-15. We are both business owners that makes us busy. Our children are involved in extra curriculars such as snowboarding, youth groups, car races. With our busy lives, we are needing help with our children. One is on the waitlist for Autism assessments and one does have ADHD that makes him very energetic.

    We try to keep busy with outdoor activities in the summer such as hiking, swimming, quadding, travelling and exploring new areas. We have a small hobby farm that consists of Chickens, ducks, geese and turkeys. We also have 2 horses that are ridable and a mini donkey that has no training what so ever. We do also do volunteer work in our church and attend bible study and worship practice. On days where the kids are in school, there is opportunity to have time by yourself or can go on a ride along in the truck to see more of the country side. If possible, having a drivers license would be a good thing.

    There is vehicles to drive around if you want to explore more. We live relatively close to our small community but rural enough to have space and privacy. We do spend a lot of time with friends and family so would like to bring you into the fold of a small welcoming community.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being in a small town, Our main industries are logging and farming. We work in the trucking industry so there is lots to learn about big trucks and the logging community, we also have farmers in our family with large animals that can learn from that. We are very much a rural town and have a slower life style and are more community

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help requested would be with the children. Also some small projects around the house and property. We are working on landscaping and different little projects this summer.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like my children to learn other languages. We are very much an english speaking family. I think the variety of Language would be a great thing for them to learn.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 options available. We have a spare bedroom in the basement, with access to the whole house. We also have a holiday trailer that is fully equipment with kitchen, A/C, and bathroom, providing a little more space and privacy than in the house. If we go camping, you can either come along or stay in the house. All meals will be with the family. If you want a quiet meal to yourself (because ours are loud and rowdy), the trailer is available for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lake close by that is great for swimming and relaxing, as well as many other lakes in the area and many hiking trails. We live in a small rural town, where there is a pool, parks, a sturgeon fish hatchery and various other things. Neighboring towns are also fun to explore. We are about an hour away from a bigger city where there is also many things to see and do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited internet access and a quiet place to work.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 122124436832

Photos

Feedback

Come help with renovations while discovering Montreal, Canada
Help our family with daily life in central Quebec, Canada