Childcare - Be part of our family and discover the Central Andes around Riobamba, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

updated   Last minute

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a German – Ecuadorian family and need help with our kids (1.5 and 4 years) as well as daily household and gardening tasks. We prefer people who stay long-term (at least two months, the longer the better), but shorter stays may be possible as well.

    You will mainly communicate and work with Sarah (me). While Danilo, my husband, spends a lot of time at work, I organize most of the childcare, household and family activities. I have a background in Environmental Sciences and I am interested in an alternative lifestyle, especially unschooling/ worldschooling, and healthy and environmentally friendly living. My dream is to have a small urban farm using aquaponics, vertical gardening, a rooftop garden, and even growing plants on the green areas of our neighbourhood. But it is still a looong way to go... Until now, we only have a few herbs, a dog, two rabbits, a lot of carps and a worm cafe.
    Because of the kids, I hardly get anything done and I spend most of the time struggling to get our family organized. That´s why I need your help!

    Ideally, you should be
    - Native in German, English or at least Spanish
    - Experienced with toddlers
    - Creative
    - Skilled in time management, planning and organization

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will definitely get more experience with kids! Although I am still at the very beginning, you could also learn a bit about urban farming/ permaculture.

    I want you to enjoy your stay as much as possible! I am very glad to help you discover Ecuador, especially I can help with:
    - Information about cultural events (concerts, dance festivals, parades, theatre, cinema ...)
    - Information about what to do in your free time (yoga, squash, swimming, climbing, dancing, horseback riding, painting lessons...)
    - Information + help organizing trips and hikes (especially Chimborazo, Altar)
    - Hiking equipment (tent, sleeping bags, poles, headlights, rubber boots)

    I love being outdoors and I know a lot of nice places and paths not even most natives know. Just ask me! Or join us if we go hiking ;)

  • Help

    Help

    - Entertaining the kids (playing, reading, singing, painting, handicrafts, German/ English language practice ...)
    - Sometimes just looking after the kids
    - Cooking (whatever you like to cook, preferably vegan or vegetarian)
    - A bit of gardening (watering plants, weeding)
    - A bit of cleaning

    From time to time I also need help with simple construction tasks, especially carpentry and painting, or just drilling. Let me know if you have any special skills or knowledge that could be useful!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a new house in a very calm neighbourhood in the outskirts of Riobamba. You will get a fully equipped private room and bathroom (without shower) on the top floor. On clear days, you will have a great view of all the surrounding volcanoes.

    Furthermore, you will get:
    - Shared bathroom with shower
    - Breakfast, lunch, dinner
    - Access to wifi and a computer
    - Access to the kitchen and washing machine
    - Rides to town whenever possible
    - Flexible working hours and days (prior agreement)

    For families: I can add an air mattress and a small mattress big enough for a toddler.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live outside the city, there is no public transport and no shops. You will need to walk about 15 - 20 minutes to smaller shops and to the closest bus stop. A taxi to the city centre will be about $ 1.50 - 2.50. But we also have a car and Danilo commutes several times a day between our home and town and can drop you off somewhere closer to the city.

    On your free days, I recommend you to
    - Visit the Chimborazo Reserve (highest volcano of Ecuador and closest point to Sun)
    - Hike to the beautiful lagoons around El Altar
    - Climb Tungurahua, Carihairazo or Chimborazo (only with guide and experience)
    - Visit the waterfalls of Baños, Patate and Pallatanga
    - Visit Ambato

    It is a 3 hours bus ride to the Amazon (Puyo, Macas), 4 hours to Quito, 5 hours to Guayaquil and 6 hours to Cuenca.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/ week (working hours will be flexible)

Our backyard and the beginning of our permaculture garden
Our kitchen with view on the backyard
Your room on the top floor: Mattress for two; we can add a baby mattress and an air mattress for two more people.
Your private bathroom (without shower)
View from your room at Chimborazo and Carihuairazo on clear days
Our neighborhood
Parque Ricpamba - Take the kids for a walk here!
Chimborazo - Highest volcano of Ecuador (6.310 m) and closest point to Sun
Chimborazo Reserve - Path to the second refuge
El Altar - Valle Collanes
Laguna Amarilla, El Altar
Trekking "El Altar"

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 121871476493