Help us with some small garden projects in Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have some availability for June 11th - 25th

    We are a small family composed of myself (Freddie), my partner Sarah & Herbert our Boxer dog. Sarah returns to London for half the week where she teaches Yoga and Ballet to children and adults. I live full-time in Somerset working in property management & renovation (which includes working on our place).

    We moved to our Cottage in 2019, after a year and half spent renovating it. It was originally built in c1850 and it has been a labour of love to restore and modernise it sympathetically, as well as furnish it almost completely with 2nd hand/vintage furniture & fixtures. We are currently working on the garden and orchard as well as the outbuildings.

    Our home is situated in a tiny, peaceful village called Limington, on the Somerset, Dorset border. This brings many benefits including the nearby Somerset Levels to the North and the rolling hills towards the Jurassic Coast to the South. We have a church and a pub in our village, and a number of friendly neighbours.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like our guests to share in the life we have begun to create for ourselves here in Somerset. Our priority above all else is to live an enriched, loving and peaceful life. Sarah and I have both explored some of the more extreme areas of spirituality, as well as therapy, and have both come to the conclusion that the answers we have been seeking are far simpler, lighter and closer to home than we previously were willing to concede. We do a little yoga, qi gong and meditation in the week, and invite guests to join in as little or as much as they wish.

    We love cooking and sharing food with others. We have found sitting around the dining table, talking about all manner of things, a really enjoyable and enriching exchange with our work aways.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help transforming our paddock into an orchard and prairie garden. We have already begun planting fruit trees and tidied up some overgrown areas. The next steps involve creating a large bed to begin planting ornamental grasses and shrubs and re-turfing patches. We might also want help with the vegetable garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our cottage has 2 comfortable spare rooms with double beds. One is ensuite and there is a family sized bathroom with a large shower. Sarah and I are both veggie, so we offer vegetarian meals to our guests. We usually ask guests to share in the cooking, even if it's just to help cut veggies. There is a nice pub in our village serving all the classic English meat dishes if guests need to get their meat fix. You are welcome to use the kitchen, though most meals will be provided.

    We usually have all meals together, though guests are welcome to do their own thing. Lunch is usually a salad with sandwich/cheese/fruit. Supper is normally a hot meal and something sweet afterwards! We invite guests to join us for some yoga or qi gong in the morning, before work. It's usually only 15mins. And sometimes a meditation at the end of the day. These practices are very much optional for our work-aways.

    There is wifi and guests are welcome to log onto it and do emails and watch films etc. We have a TV and usually watch a film or two in the week, anything from a trashy romcom to one of Sarah's more avant-garde cinematic choices!
    There is a resident dog at the house. He is a Boxer (medium sized dog) called Herbert. He's very good natured and loves to play. He is also a very good listener, if you need some animal therapy and unconditional love : )
    Any other questions just ask.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's lots to do, depending how adventurous you're feeling. That said, this is also a lovely place to slow down and do very little, especially if the sun is shining. In the village there is a pub serving all the classic English pub dishes with a beautiful pub garden looking out over fields. There is a pretty, old church at the other end of the village which you're welcome to visit either during or outside of a service. There are lots of lovely walks from the cottage, we have an OS Map you can borrow with all the routes shown. We have bikes you are welcome to borrow to go further afield. There are a number of stunning market towns worth a visit such as Sherborne and Castle Cary. Montacute House, a large National Trust house and gardens is close by. There are also nice little foodie places serving good coffee and interesting dishes not too far away. We have some interesting friends involved in some of the more traditional jobs of this region including Cider making and specialist Joinery. There are plenty of books you are welcome to borrow during your stay and a guitar, usually in tune!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 119379526444