Visit a family in Cordoba city's suburbs. Close to the city, far from the noise! help with kids, garden and more

Country

Argentina

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    269

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello there! I don´t really need urgent help..... I'd like to receive travellers mainly because I love travelling! I´d love my kids to interact with different people, different cultures, different languages..... see that the world is not only the one we live in or the one they can see in the TV....

    If you are looking for a place to stay some days and you want to share your time, culture and knowledges with us be welcome to apply. I'd rather have last minute applies as I´m not very in to long term planning or schedules..... and the not available months are mainly because it´s cold here in winter! (but we can work it out if you want to come anyway... lets talk about it)

    I´ll be happy to teach or show you about Argentinian culture (language, traditional cooking, mate, asado, music.... ) as well as showing you around or help finding nearby things you are interested on.

    I´ve travelled quite a lot and lived in different places before having my kids and settling down.... I´ve met beautifull people all around and I have received a lot of help from complete strangers. I love that. I want to give back a part of it.

    If you want to help with actual "work" there are also a lot of things to do. The main thing would be helping me to make our "quincho" (no... I don´t know a word for it in English.... sorry) a nicer place to live in for travellers (yes, for you). That could include hanging courtins, repainting beds, walls or windows.... but you could also cook... clean the swimming pool, cut the grass, help with the orchard...

    About us:
    We are a family with kids aged 11 and 4 (lovable, curious, independent, outgoing children). We share our house with a dog, 2 cats and 2 hens (yes, fresh eggs everyday).
    I like to think that we are easy going and open minded. We are very sociable and love to meet with friends and family. We also love to cook (and eat jaja)

    I work halfday mainly from home (or wherever able to get online) for a computer company with flexible work hours. Kids go to school in the morning and come back at lunch time.

    You could say we live in the edge between Cordoba city and the countryside (close enough to benefit from the city, far enough to live as we want).

    We live in a house located in a peaceful neighbourhood full of trees and birds in between two small cities (Villa Allende and Mendiolaza) and the countryside. Most neighbours go downtown Córdoba to work everyday (including my husband). I normally go once a week.

    The buss stop is 1 block away from the house and a buss ride to downtown Cordoba (the capital of the province and the biggest city around) is less than 1 hour. It's safe and easy to go around walking and you can also use our bikes if you like. Plenty to see and do around the house,

    Kids have a large outdoor play area around the house and can freely go in and out. There's also a swimming pool we normally use everyday during summertime (november to march).

    Our dog normally stays outside and our cats normally do whatever they want :) as cats do! We do not smoke and we don´t like smoking inside the house (there´s lots of space outside!)

    We eat any kind of food.... normally homemade and we all cook (or try to)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think the best would be living in an argentinian family, sharing our daily life and activties as a member of the family.

    I´ll be happy to teach or show you about Argentinian culture (language, traditional cooking, mate, asado, music.... ) as well as showing you around or help finding nearby things or people you might be interested on.

  • Help

    Help

    As I said before the help depends on who comes, as timetables would.. Anyway, one thing you should think about is that whenever they are home, the kids will want to help/see/ask/participate in anything you do.... so If you are not used to or don't like kids this may not be the best option for you :) Same thing with animals.

    For the same reason, I need to know you have good references if you apply.... If you don´t have workaway references we can find another way (couchsurfing? facebook? linkedin? )

    Here´s a list of some types of possible help that come to my mind:

    If you speak English you could just hang around with me and my kids while doing everyday life (playing, cooking, eating, biking, playing instruments or sports, building stuff, ... etc.) The aim is to share cultures, learn different things... have fun while learning/practicing English.

    If you don´t speak English.... well you could do the same in spanish? :) or try in any other language (theres allways a way to comunicate)

    The idea is hosting travellers to share time and knowledges with. Do you know how to cook? how to play any instrument or sport? interested in art? anything can be a good reason to share, learn and have a good time.

    I'd appreciate help with the kids allthough there will normally be another adult around or close (specially untill we know eachother) so it´s not exactly babysitting.

    There are always lots of things to do in a house so if you´d like to help gardening, working in the orchard, cleaning the swimming pool, paintinig, fixing something or building something new... you are very welcome too!

    I´d appreciate help cooking.... I´d love to try new recipees and new flavors...

    Help would be usually needed anytime before 19 on week days (not every day.... not all the time... ) I think It's best to arrange that once we get in contact according to the type of help you can provide.

    You are welcome to share breakfast, lunch and/or afternoon snacks with us but we normally like to have our evening meals private.... and we normally go to bed and get up early. Specially on week days.

    If you want to travel or go somewhere you´d be free to do so, our life is allready organized and working so you'd be free to manage your own time (just let us know when you leave/come back)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish English (Swedish only me)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our "quincho" is a 35 square meters closed place attached to the house but independent with private bathroom (no shower nor hot water yet). There is a fridge, a place to wash things, an oven that works with fire (don´t know the name), a fireplace/grill for barbecues, a big table and chairs ... There's a single bed (normally used as couch) with another bed underneath and we can provide blankets , pillows and sheets. There´s no proper heating system and thats why we would rather not host in winter/cold season.

    Please take note that we may use the "quincho" during daytime as bikes and some other things are kept there and we normally use it when we are in the pool .... it is also normally used on weekends for family/friend gatherings (the typical asado). Asados are normally at lunch time but If it takes place during night time you wont be able to go to sleep untill everybody leaves .... or sleep in the livingroom if you can.

    During the day you would be part of the family and, as long as you care for them properly, you can use our things (kitchen, bikes, guitar, tv, computer laundry machine... etc.)

    Our wifi reaches the quincho (and everywhere else in the house)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport is one block away and we are close to the airport (15 minutes by car).

    You will be close to many beautifull places to visit and there are lots of things to do around.

    As we are in the suburbs you can find both nature/outside things to do (a lake close, horse rides, biking, rivers, etc.) and city life (stores, shopping center, cinemas, restaurants, bars.... )

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Depending on the time you stay and what you want to do.... flexible - max 25

Our living room (can you find my daughter hidden?)
View from inside the quincho. You would sleep here if you come. Bathroom door to the left. Come and help making it cosier!
The only picture I have right now of the "quincho" from the outside. It´s the right part of the picture with metal roof... the small window is the bathroom. I really took this picture to show the leaves falling to the pool!! (now the pool is covered and has a fence).
Us in the street in front of our house.

Host ref number: 116534749446