Volunteering in English Teaching (Speaking) and Experience living with a Minang family in Sawahlunto, West Sumatera, Indonesia

Country

Indonesia

updated  

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello/Hola/Bonjour/Bon Giorno workawayers around the world!

    Before you start reading my profile, please have a look at my calendar and my schedule and information below:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ The camp is based on participants' request.
    *️️️ I'm running an English course, the class will be started soon. Every month I open to a new English class.

    ABOUT ME __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    My name's Deni Abdillah M, just call me Deni or Dani. I'm 33 y/o and an English lecturer. I'm an open-minded person, have a sense of humor, fun, and communicative. My passion is English. I run my course because it is my passion. I'd like to give a real impact on society through English. I love to share a story/moment with everyone. I'm a big fan of Juventus FC (Italy). Football and futsal are my hobbies. Besides that, I love jogging, hiking, hanging out, trekking, camping, walking, surfing on the internet, swimming, reading, and watching a movie.

    WORKPLACE
    __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    My workplace is in Bukittinggi. It is a High School of Foreign Language Haji Agus Salim - Bukittinggi or STBA Haji Agus Salim. We have 2 majors; English Literature (Bachelor degree) and Japanese (Diploma). While, My project; English Camp, is located in Sawahlunto.

    LIVING PLACE & FAMILY
    __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    Ombilin Sawahlunto Heritage Coal Mining has been officially designated by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. "Kota Arang " (City of Charcoal) was officially designated as a UNESCO world heritage in the 43rd session of the World Heritage Committee Meeting in Baku, Azerbaijan, on Saturday, July 6, 2019.

    I have been living in Sawahlunto for 5 years in a rented house. We can probide you a private room. I have been married for 5 years and I have a daughter (4 y/o). My wife is a civil servant (Elementary school teacher). She is really kind and busy, then she is very good at cooking. My daughter is cute and adorable.

    Furthermore, my parents live in Payakumbuh (just 2.5 hours from Sawahlunto). My dad is retired (He was a sports teacher), while my mom is a housewife. Now, my mom is planting corn, banana, cassava, and other vegetables. The farm field is about 10 minutes from my parents' house. In the house, we have one bedroom empty. It is a special room for a guest.

    CULTURE
    __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________.
    We are very eager to learn English with people from other countries. We are ready in exchanging cultures and languages. Our mother tongue is Minang and Bahasa (Indonesia) is our national language.

    Our philosophy in Minangkabau is "Adat Basandi Syarak, Syarak Basandi Kitabullah". It means that we live and act based on the Qur'an (Holy Book). Minangkabau is 100% Moslem (Islam). Our tradition is unique, that is Matrelinelism system. We follow our mother blood. Based on BBC Indonesia, Minangkabau is the biggest tribe with using Matrilinealism system in the world. Based on our religion (Islam/Muslim) and culture), if you are an unmarried couple, you are not allowed to sleep together when you are coming to my place.

    NATURE
    __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    We have beautiful nature in Sumatera Barat. There are Lakes, mountains, jungles, beaches, valley, and canyon. I think you can start googling with the keyword: Sumatera Barat, West Sumatera, Bukittinggi, Sawahlunto, Payakumbuh, Sianok Canyon, Jam Gadang, Harau Valley, Minangkabau.

    I would love to try hiking and climbing to the mountain; Mount Merapi in Bukittinggi - Sumatera Barat - Indonesia. Because I live and work in three different cities, so I know those cities very much.

    We are very welcome for a both native and non-native speaker to join us.

    Please do not hesitate to contact and to ask me some questions about the program or everything you would like to know, then please mention the skills which you are really experienced with.

    Warm regard,


    Deni


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Types of help are described below
    *️️️️️️️️️ Additional information:
    Please come to the 5th International Carnaval (SISSCa 2019). If you are interested in fashion or designer. You may contribute to our event. The event will be 6th to 8th September 2019.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What will we exchange with the volunteers:
    .................................................
    1. Sharing the experiences about culture, food, fun teaching techniques, camps, curricula, indoor and outdoor games, photo and videography.
    2. Cooking class (Traditional foods).
    3. Hunting for culinary.
    4. Communicating and living with local people. You will feel like a Rock-Stars when you meet them. Trust me!
    7. Learning and Practicing our languages (Minangkabaunese and Bahasa).
    8. Sports (playing futsal, jogging, hiking, trekking).
    9. Experiencing and living with Minangkabau family

    "You aren't a tourist, You aren't a visitor, You aren't a guest, BUT YOU ARE a part of my FAMILY". SO, I let the world come to me.

  • Help

    Help

    This is opportunity for both Native and Non-Native speakers.
    .........................................................................

    1. Teaching English (Team work) / English Camp
    2. Organizing and Promoting the new English programs.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Involving in promoting directly (Team work).

    If you have experiences and confidence with those opportunities (optional) above. Don't hesitate to contact me through this site.

    But if you are new, or you don't meet with the points above, and you would like to try experiencing and living with Minangkabau family, we are very welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Bahasa, Minangkabaunese, learning Spanish-Italian-French through Duo Linggo

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    "Make yourself home"
    1.Pillow + blanket + Mattress.
    2. Food and drink. You are allowed to cook your own meal. (We eat rice 3 times a day).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can explore our beautiful nature (mountain, lakes, valley, canyon, etc) and city such as visiting our tourism objects and historical places. How? You can take, public car called Angkot, cart (Bendi), OJEK (it is one of our transportation with a bike and the driver / rider), and you can book it online called Go-Jek, or you prefer walking. I'll give you some tips about the area which you want to visit.
    If I have free time, I'll show you around.

    Your call!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ If you would like to explore our nature, you need to pay the transportation (exp: gasoline).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My lil family (Lisna & My kid Yasmine) featuring Sophie at Puncak Cemara, Sawahlunto - West Sumatera - Indonesia
Sophie planted corn in my mom's farm field
Sophie's work
My Parents, Brother & Sophie
Playing futsal with my team @Bukittinggi, West Sumatera, Indonesia. Santi is a great player.
Fun activities with the teachers'
Fun activities with the teachers'
Fun activity with Students SMKN 4 Payakumbuh, West Sumatera, Indonesia
Santiago, Anne, and Jefri (my best friend). July 2018 "Pasa Harau Festival of Art. Location: Harau, West Sumatera, Indonesia



Host ref number: 116345334998