Join our family and help at our eco-project in Piracanga, Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 244 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family, me Larissa, Neil and Otto 3 years old. We are currently living in Brazil since early 2020. We were meant to be back in London by now but we're making changes following COVID-19 and decided to stay a bit longer.

    As both Neil and I work remotely and we would like someone who can help us with childcare whilst our nanny visits her family.

    We are currently living in a small village called Piracanga, in front of an estuary and the sea... google it! We live in a sustainably built house with lots of wildlife around us. The village is in a remote area so it is important to bear that in mind if you are planning to travel during your free time. We have internet, electricity and water all powered by a solar grid. There is a great young community living here.

    We are looking for an open minded, calm and flexible person or couple to be part of our family and share with us your own life experiences and knowledge. We love healthy and simple foods, and try to stick to a simple, quiet life style.

    COVID-19 UPDATE: please check if international borders are open. New people arriving at the ecovilla are required to isolate for 8 days.

    DATES: Ideally arriving around the 20th February and staying for 4-6 weeks.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Otto used to go to a Steiner nursery in Brazil and a Forest school when in England.

    We are constantly learning about gentle parenting and respectful parenting approach - learning the work of Magda Gerber, Janet Lansbury, Pikler etc. If you don’t know much about this I would love to share some videos and books, if this is something that interest you of course. We learn so much just by being present.

    If you are interested in community living, permaculture, natural cosmetics and cleaning products and many other more sustainable ways to live then this is a great place to live, pretty much everyone here is on the same page.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help to take care of Otto and give us a bit of help in our daily lives.

    Things you could also help us with include planning and cooking simple meals for Otto and smoothies (we love them), and VERY simple housekeeping like organizing his bedroom, collecting the food market, water the plants. Having someone around to share these tasks make our lives much happier!

    We prefer it if you are self directed and motivated in terms of getting things done. I will give you a list of things we need help with – but I won’t tell you what to do and when to do it (I spend enough time doing that at work!) You can look through the list and decide what to do each day. Occasionally there may be a specific time when I need your help, or I may ask that one of the jobs gets done on a particular day, but for the most part, we are pretty flexible! As long as you help out around each day that's ok.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is very spacious, has a calm interior, 2 bedrooms and a garden.

    The source of our energy is primarily the sun so ask that you use the energy consciously and do not bring devices that consume a lot of energy.

    For us, "rubbish" does not really exist, so we ask that each one also take responsibility for their waste.

    Out of respect for our water and our health, we use biodegradable products.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of activities happening here at all times. Some of them have extra costs, but most of them are free or accept a conscious contribution.

    Activities that have a special place here are: Reiki, Aura Reading, Massages, Yoga, Meditation, Capoeira, Circular Dances, O-DGI, singing mantras, lots of music. There are spaces for hiking, beach volleyball and of course surfing.

    You can also help on ecological projects around the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 114499561567