General DIY help around the house or garden in Gozo, Malta

Country

Malta

updated  

Favourited 106 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired teacher. I taught geography in England and English in West Africa. I live on the island of Gozo, which is part of Malta.

    My house is an old farmhouse in a small village. Guests would have their own bedroom and usually their own bathroom, although it would be shared if there are any other visitors. The house is a ten minute walk from the village centre and the nearest shops, bars and restaurants. I may have a bicycle available for use. The nearest town is five kilometres away. There is a good hourly bus service throughout the day. Gozo is a popular place to visit with beaches, historic sites and plenty of sun.

    I am looking for a someone who can stay between one week and one month. Shorter periods may be possible but probably not longer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help with English language skills while Gozo has many historical sites that can be explored.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required will either be general maintenance and cleaning of the house or gardening. No job will require specific skills and will be suitable for anyone who is capable of diy (do it yourself) tasks. The work is physical rather than mental and may include getting dirty.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests will have their own bedroom equipped with standard furniture. Bedding and towels will be provided. There are fans for use when it is hot, but no air conditioning. A mosquito net is available for use as the room does not have mosquito screenns. There is a separate bathroom, which will usually be private but may be shared if friends or family are staying. Guests will be able to make use of the rest of the house and outdoor spaces.

    I provide two meals, breakfast and an evening meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Gozo is a popular holiday destination and relevant information can be found online. There is a bus stop near the house and I have a bicycle, possibly two, available for use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week, usually 3 hours a day Monday to Friday but I am flexible on this.

Preparing brioche.
Reconstruction.
Demolition.
Gardening.
Whiewash on the roof.
Stonework.
Outdoor painting.
A replacement shower tray.
Putting up shelves.
New kitchen tiles.
Varnishing.
About to varnish a wooden door.
At Work: Refacing a damaged wall.
Single bedroom. The photo makes this room look bigger than reality.








Host ref number: 113855447461