We are a family learning how to create a life efficient with the environment in the countryside of Chiloé Island, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family that lives in the countryside of Chiloé Island, we are learning how to create a life efficient with the environment.

    We produce native potatoes, garlic, letters, beetroots, and other vegetables and we are learning how to create a self-ficent house, we collect the rainwater, we do compost and organic fertilizers, and we have some amazing plums trees and we can enjoy jams all year around. We leave next to the shore so sometimes we spend time collecting seaweed and that way a louse to have organic food in our dishes.

    We are 4 family members that also work in tourism, we love spending time hiking, and kayaking we just are inside the forest.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn various permaculture techniques in organic vegetables, and gardening you will learn a lot about the plants, and fertilizer, They can learn about various landscaping jobs, and also about the Chilean culture here in the countryside.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the garden, picking veggies, planting, weeding, etc. And the everyday work in the house like cooking, cleaning, etc.

    We want to make the stay enjoyable and enriching for both parties. We usually ask for different tasks or help every day unless there is a big project going on at the moment. Generally, we ask for help in the garden with weeding, preparation of garden beds, chopping firewood, turning compost, and applying it to the garden (manure involved :) feeding animals, and other odd jobs around the homestead. In the harvest months, we ask you to help with processing vegetables for sauces or freezer, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I’m interested in learning a language and sharing mine.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer our guests a separate bedroom in our cozy 3-bedroom house. All linen is of course provided and there is only one bathroom in the house which is shared.
    We all eat together all meals, including breakfast, usually a lighter lunch and a hot dinner at the end of the day.
    We cannot, unfortunately, cater to any special diet - meat (mostly from our homestead or a neighbor farm), eggs, dairy, and gluten in the form of homemade sourdough bread are on the menu.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chiloe is a mix of rolling green hills and blue waters on the eastern side, and a rocky coastline pounded by the mighty Pacific Ocean to the west. This – the Isla Grande de Chiloe – is made up of watery delights including winding rivers, lakes, lagoons, inlets, and coves we live near all these lands scape, and you can enjoy riding a bicycle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 112342517652