Help me finish off renovation of my old farmhouse and develop garden in Torri In Sabina, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 16 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    I have recently moved to the countryside and renovated an old farmhouse - I am discovering what it means to live in nature and to connect with the Sabina area, where growing olives and making olive oil anchors the seasons. I still work in Rome but my centre of gravity has shifted. I live alone, happily, with one cat. At this stage, the big ''project'' is rehabilitating the land around the house which has not been looked after in well over 30 years. Last year I cleared brambles and ivy that had completely swallowed up olive and fruit trees. This year, I would like to start thinking about some very basic, climate-smart planting of trees and plants -- but with absolutely no knowledge of how to approach this!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I was born and raised in Italy and can connect travelers to Italian customs and ways of living. My house is immersed in olive groves and I am increasingly engaged with the agricultural activities in the area. I cook regularly and am happy to teach non Italians the basics of Italian cooking.

  • Help


    I am looking for a person or a couple with some DIY skills to help me ''finish" the interior of the house - in particular help with building shelves/storage. In October/November, olive picking would also be an activity! Externally, someone with gardening and landscaping skills would be wonderful -- I am at the very beginning of even starting to tackle the outside (still very much a work site) so it's a blank palette (except the existing old trees).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in practicing my French and Spanish.

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation is a double bedroom with its own bathroom. It is not in a separate part of the house but has good privacy - I would only need access to the washing machine/laundry area on occasion (this does not require me to go through the travelers' room, however.) Concerning food -- I will cover the costs but would appreciate sharing the responsibility for cooking as I often work all day (or am in Rome) and get back late. I also may go away for a day or two and am happy to leave the car with you so you can be completely independent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am happy to let travelers borrow my car to explore the area and also to accompany them to the local train to go into Rome for the day/day and night. The area is relatively rural but the nearest town is reachable on foot (15 minutes walk, not strenuous).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a space on my property to park a campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 112196459687