Help with a friendly family urban farm in South Austin, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 149 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a friendly family from Austin, TX. We live on a miniature hobby ranch in town that we're in the process of converting to an 1800's style bed and breakfast. We would love some extra help keeping the property looking nice and maintained, starting a garden and tending to our mini horses, rabbits and chickens.

    We enjoy meeting people from all over!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -Experience urban farm life -- collect fresh eggs for breakfast, feed the chickens, rabbits and mini horses. Learn how to groom and walk Triumph and Champagne, Chase off coyotes, snakes and raccoons!
    - Explore the trails in our back meadow and massive bamboo forest. Create bamboo music shakers, cedar post walking sticks and anything else you can think of!
    - Check out the music, art, & food scene in Austin.
    - Attend dozens of programs, events and festivals offered throughout the city.
    - Borrow our bikes and explore the Lady Bird Lake Hike and Bike Trail or the Shoal Creek Greenbelt.
    - Join us for a Community Music Jam it the Barn . Learn to play simple guitar, percussion, or harmonica.
    -Take a day trip and experience authentic, small town Texas values and hospitality-- just 30 minutes any direction from Austin.
    -

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers will help feed the animals, clear trails, mend fences, mow lawns, leaf blow, jet spray, tend to the garden, trim trees and bushes and general light maintenance.

    The ideal situation is a week-long volunteer stay when we can host 2-3 workawayers. Couples and friends encouraged. RV's okay.

    We enjoy being alongside volunteers as our schedule permits, however it is helpful if tasks can be completed independently or with other volunteers.

    We like to do 2-3 hours in the morning and then have a giant breakfast. After that you can take the day off to do whatever you like in Austin.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    ENG

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Stay at our farm (we are only 15 minutes to downtown Austin!) We have a cozy cabin in the woods near the main house (electric, but no plumbing). Cabin is furnished for two and has internet access.

    There's a private bathroom with shower for volunteers at the main house and a shared outdoor kitchen there as well. We provide a hearty breakfast each day. (Meals other than breakfast will be on your own unless otherwise coordinated.)

    Volunteers will need their own transportation to get in and around Austin. There are grocery stores nearby and a really nice laundry facility.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Austin has a great many things to offer - great parks, hike and bike trails, a plethora of music venues, good eats at local restaurants, artistic, hip vibe scene. We can loan you bikes anytime so you can get around town easily.

    Best to have your own car or vehicle to get into town. When in town, bus routes, bikes, scooters, rideshare available.

    We strive to create a fun and interesting culture where workawayers can also meet other workawayers and socialize with friends of ours while volunteering at our place!

    We like to host potlucks, events, workshops, music concerts and invite friends and others in the Austin community who are interested in gathering to exchange ideas and stories!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day

Our barn at the farm
John,Sharon Nick & Amber plus Lucky and one of our new baby bunnies.

Host ref number: 111795191211