Amanda

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (5)

Top Workawayer
Explorer
Photographer
Facebook verified

Freunde (8)

Profil ist verbunden mit:

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Portugal - von Mär 2022 bis Mai 2022
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    PORTUGAL / Northern Spain

    I’m looking for an awesome, kind, host in Galicia right now (May) for 1 week or longer. Ideally painting a mural, gardening or being creative.

    Buenos Dias - Bom Dia - Good Day :)

    I am a professional artist. My work is predominately large murals on flat surfaces like walls. I am looking to connect to caring hosts who need some help with anything creative like Art, Teaching or Cooking.

    Having travelled solo for the first time in 2014. I decided in January 2016 that I would quit my job as a teacher. I gave away my possessions, re-homed my cat and said goodbye to family and friends in exchange for the opportunity to travel around the world and that's exactly what I did and it was the most wonderful experience of my life.....I AM smiling now thinking about it.

    I did my first workaway in July 2014 in Thailand, working at 'clayzyhouse hostel' where everything was made from driftwood, clay and found materials.
    I was fortunate to be asked to paint the signage for an art hostel in Koh Lanta, Thailand, another amazing opportunity. (I was asked to paint Salvador Dali looking at a sexy Mona Lisa. (See profile pictures)
    2015 in Australia I was working in permaculture, designing and building projects from wood.
    2016 - Tasmania, Australia, making vegetable gardens using permaculture, helping with cob building, using reclaimed glass bottles as windows. Making and painting a recycled pallet table using the principles of permaculture. Made a sturdy butchers block on wheels from blue gum wood, felled on the property.
    2017 In Croatia, I was working in another hostel painting an Egyptian themed mural (see photos).
    2018 - During my time in Portugal, I was asked to paint a caravan and decided to base the theme of the animals that were present at the farm, changing the horse to a unicorn. This opened up many possibilities for me and I won a competition for my mural.
    2020- 2021 Since lockdown I have been on the island of Pico in The Azores working in various hotels and air b n b's painting various murals and commissions.
    I have made artwork projects from found and recycled materials, trying to make use of the things other people throw away.
    2019- 2021 - More recently I have been working at the house of Arte on a giant mosaic using tiles found in the trash or from a beach clean up.
    During my time on Pico I realised that volcanic rocks are porous and easy to sculpt. So my newest passion is making stone faces from rocks.
    2021 - I stayed on the island of Faial and Sao Miguel in the Açores, creating raised vegetable beds, using permaculture, planting seeds for the guests of tomorrow. I also created some volcanic face sculptures from rock.
    2022 - UK, working at the Majushri Buddhist Meditation Centre in the art studio fixing the mouldings and plaster castings for sacred stupas, together with other gold leaf mouldings for the Buddhist temple.
    2022 - UK, working in a coffee shop/cafe serving coffee, vegan and vegetarian soup, sandwiches, teas and snacks. Learning barista skills with the coffee machine.
    2022 - Açores, (Faial) Setting up a brand new vegetable garden - using permaculture principles.
    2022 - North Portugal, learning to use my creative skills to produce dream catchers from branches in nature.

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Radfahren
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Sprachen
    Architektur
    Kunst & Design
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Bücher

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Seniorenbetreuung

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Ökoprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    A bit more about my skills....
    I try to live a simple life using my art as a way to travel on a budget. I specialise in murals.
    I've spent time teaching Art and Design back in the UK for over 20 years in fact. I love spending time with people from all sorts of different cultures and backgrounds. I am a friendly person, open and honest with the people I meet. I am a naturally creative person who loves nothing better than using my artist talents in the best possible way, or I am just as happy designing and making things.
    I love being outdoors in the sunshine, it warms my heart, gardening or building projects, would be great. I love cooking, especially healthy Thai food and anything veggie or vegan.
    I am computer literate and have very good IT skills.
    I have great people skills, I'd like to think I am warm and have empathy. I was a teacher of Art and Design Technology. So anything involving, teaching Art or English would be great! I can cook, clean, and help around the house. I don't mind getting my hands dirty and I am happy to chip in with anything that is needed to help. I have grown up children who are now in their 20's, so childminding wouldn't be a problem. I am a happy go lucky sort of person who is looking for a cultural experience and some great memories.

    I am also a children's face painter and body painter. If you have any parties or festivals, then I can help out with this.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    I taught English online for two years during my time in the Açores and I am able to teach this to anyone who needs help to improve. I used to be an Art teacher and I am able to guide people through the art process. I'd really like to learn Spanish and improve my beginner Portuguese.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    49

  • Was noch ...

    I have some experience of rebuilding and refurbishing houses. I spent three years renovating my own house. I have many skills using wood. I am confident using electric and hand tools. I am learning to play djembe and I was part of a drum circle. I enjoy yoga, meditation and mindfulness. I enjoy being surrounded in nature, swimming in the sea and eating an organic plant based diet. I love being around uplifting, joyous, kind and loving human beings.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      wheat/gluten in some flour based foods.

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      I try to eat mainly plant based food wherever possible, but understand this is not always possible.

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Wettbewerbsfotos

Feedback