Single oder Paar gesucht: Gartenarbeit und Grundstücksinstandhaltung in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 734 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.02.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am retired and living with two rustic houses in a beautiful spot overlooking the Obidos Lagoon between the town of Caldas da Rainha and the seaside resort of Foz do Arelho.

    I have three Springer Spaniel dogs and two Lusitano horses at home and work sometimes as an equestrian writer and trainer. We have a large garden with fruit trees and veg a patch which I try to keep organic which I would love to be better tended.

    Old properties always require maintenance and help with that would be appreciated.

    Please be specific about what dates you want to come having first looked at my calendar. If it is in red there is no current availability. I will not be answering messages asking for stays outside of the times marked as potentially available in my calendar (which amounts to about 80% of messages I get)

    Please read and digest my whole profile before you message me.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I feel competent to impart my knowledge of ...Organic gardening, Horse care and management, Natural horsemanship (this does not imply that horse riding is offered here, horsemanship is about way more than just riding), Rider Biomechanics, Cookery (see my feedback), The British sense of humour. Spurious advice gleaned from six decades on the planet.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Gardening, weeding, planting, etc. Horse care/maintenance (no previous experience of horses required,...but you shouldn't be allergic to either dogs or horses) general tidying, stable/field cleaning. House sitting and dog/horse sitting if I need go out. DIY skills/carpenters/electricians, not essential but a bonus. No under 20's please. We are LBGT friendly. English speaking is a requirement for all volunteers (it doesn't have to be perfect!) Applicants need to be self starters, willing and able to get out of bed in the mornings, not physically weak and with the ability to follow simple instructions without constant supervision. If you can't push a wheelbarrow full of horseshit and have to do weeding sitting down maybe this is not the place for you (these last two points are non-negotiable)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Separate self contained bedsit with ONE double bed. Thus only suitable for a pair of friends if you are extremely friendly! Suits single or couple. Bathroom, kitchen area, sunny patio overlooking the lagoon (currently with a view of a flock of flamingos) . Access to 2 acre garden. Some communal meals but basically self catering, food provided. Please state any non-standard food preferences prior to arriving.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The houses are rural and out of the village but not isolated. Obidos Lagoon is a magnet for birdwatchers and water sports enthusiasts. The forests that border the lagoon are great for hiking and biking (I have two bikes). The beach at Foz do Arelho is spectacular and popular with surfers and bodyboarders/kitesurfers. There are bars, restaurants and nightclubs in Foz do Arelho (4km). The local village is in walking distance (1km) and has bars, restaurants, a mini market and a bus to the town of Caldas da Rainha (6km). Bring mosquito repellent for your comfort at dawn and dusk.

    People tell me that I have a great sense of humour but it is a little dry. The following comments have been added due to the experiences I have had with previous WW'ers

    I like vegetarian food so long as I can have meat with it. Vegetarians are welcome but any who want to lecture me about that will get short shrift. Sorry no vegans, I had too much grief with them already.

    Alcohol is very cheap in Portugal and drugs decriminalised. I also enjoy a glass of wine but take a dim view of people who want to come here just to get smashed out of their faces on one or the other and spend nights sleeping in bushes on their way back from the bars.

    Yes we have WIFI but only if you bring your own appliance to receive it with.

    Couples - It's challenging sometimes I know (I have 3 ex-husbands) but having high volume domestic screaming/slanging matches in the street outside my/our neighbours houses will not be tolerated.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hours per day, 6 days per week



























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 998287442641