new host  

Creating a safe space for women and children in Margate, South Africa

  • Bisher 23 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 1 März 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Thongo, I am a mother with twin girls and a 4 year old daughter. I've been living in Pondoland for 6 years. The dream of my own land has finally become a reality and during the last 3 years, I have slowly been clearing and building what is present. My vision is to create a space for women and children who have no where else to go. A school that empowers children by learning from the environment, building on the proud African tradition of learning under the trees.

    I am also a medicine women and am working towards opening sacred medicine ceremony space as part of my vision. I have formed strong relationships with people in my community and earned trust and respect by fully integrating their values and lifestyle.
    It is very important to me that this trust and respect should continue. Whoever is called to come please learn and listen before judgment is passed. I live a radical existence that many struggle to fathom, bridgeing cultures and building a life for my children that i am proud of.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Where I live is in the heart of the wild coast, it is a place of unspoiled nature. African village living, mud huts and cow dung floors.
    Our lifestyle is the traditional age old Xhosa/African way, simple living off the land. Chop wood, Carry water. Limited, to no electricity, fires , little, to no cellphone reception. Hard work but with lots of peace, quiet and old unspoiled forests- the ocean is a beautiful walk away.

    African ceremonies are part of the lifestyle here and if you are interested you could part take insomething profound. African healing ceremonies which can last up to 3 days include dancing, drumming, gathering of community, singing and colourful characters.
    You could learn and experience things here which you cannot find anywhere else in South Africa.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am creating an off-grid space with the intention of making it a half-way house for mothers and children. A space which manifests into a mystery school as well as being able to hold people for their healing. Reconnecting and relearning self sufficiency.I am a hard worker, energetic and busy, i would like to be met with the same energy.

    We are at the building phase:
    Help Needed with:
    Clearing nature and rehabilitating
    Setting up solar
    Laying out gardens and planting
    Building: Adobe making,mudding, painting, plastering.
    Childcare and cooking
    Outside, inside general tasks

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Afrikaans: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Xhosa: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Rustic...Generally shared spaces in a round house, sleeping like african people on the natural floor, on a reed mat, blankets provided.
    Camping possible. No electricity although once or twice a week devices can be charged.
    Water carried on head, water from rain tank for specifics.
    Bathing in river,waterfall or ocean. Private bathing can be done on the land in bucket. I am still in the process of desiging and putting together comfortable wash spaces. If this is important to you come and help me! No toilet at the moment, dig a hole in the forest, dont be scared the forest is huge.
    Communal kitchen, fire cooking, outside dish washing space.
    We are out in nature there are animals, snakes and bugs. No one has been hurt but it is our reality this is africa. We live and co-exist with nature.
    We will provide food for meals a day but expect helping preparing and cleaning up.
    Keeping it simple.There is a gas stove but limited utensils.Its a make shift bush kitchen.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The closest airport is Umthata from Umthata there are mostly taxi services. It would be easier if my partner or I can pick you up , we would need to be compensated for gasoline as its a 3 hour trip there and back. In a taxi it would cost you R70 but you need hair on your teeth for that experience. We are willing to bring you here for R350 one way. The roads are rough but the scenery is wild!
    Details about exactly to get here we can discuss according to where you are and your needs.
    There is much to do like Magwa Falls, sulphur springs, walking the coast line, visitng packbackers for great food. Beach visits, forest walks , village visits, cultural visits, horse rides.
    Most transport is local,either hiring a local chauffeur, local taxi or hopping along with us into town. Possible walking or hitch hiking.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 814924533934

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Hilf mit auf einer Abenteuerfarm und Lodge in Underberg, Südafrika
Join us in the exiting and multi-cultural heart of Cape Town, South Africa