Join us on our organic farm and enjoy the picturesque scenery around Granada province, Spain

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 51 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a friendly family who own a 7,000 square metre terraced smallholding (finca) in Granada province and are looking for help with the maintenance and development of our land ecologically as well as creating an arts space and venue.Dan has 30 years of work experience covering forestry, festival builds ,music co-operatives, catering , and helping create various practical community environmental spaces but is still happy learn more. All input no matter how seemingly insignificant to majestic is equally important and appreciated. The land has 60 olive trees, (the harvest of which takes place November to January), almond trees, fig trees, grapevines, chirimoyos and a vegetable patch. It also has a basic brick-built structure which contains hot shower, toilet and bathroom, behind which there is a covered outdoor kitchen. The land has spectacular views and there are many places to sit and enjoy the evening sunshine. The climate is generally pretty dry and warm in Spain (they say we get 320 days of sunshine a year here) but there is a firepit for use during the coldest months. Accomodation is a belltent in which mattress, duvet and pillow will be provided.We are also in the process of construction safari shelters as more are needed. You may of course bring a camper van, or own tent. There is also a swimming pool but this is still in need of work to make it functional. Our daughter is 4 years old and goes to the local school. There is a well stocked local shop, bar and cash machine in the closest village which is a 5 minute walk from the land. We are about 20 minutes drive from the closest beach and 45 minutes to the lovely city of Granada, with public transport links to both. At the moment we have two friends staying on our land in their campervan who are also helping us out. They are living on the land full-time. Our house is only 5 minutes drive from the land but we're up on the land most days, with weekends off. Mealtimes are split between the land and home so some meals can be communal but not all. We have only had the land two years but have had the house for 17 years so we can speak Spanish and introduce you to many of the locals if you want to be part of things. Or if you're wanting space then we're happy to leave you to your own devices.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a valley that comprises of three close villages within the same 7km stretch. They are each traditional white Spanish pueblos where people are friendly and welcoming. Village life is easy to join in with and, if you do want to have a go at learning any Spanish, people are happy to talk to you and are rarely critical of beginners. The nearest village (called Guajar Faraguit) has a lively bar which is the central hub, opening from 6am and closing late. Breakfast, lunch and an evening meal are all offered, aswell as a full bar (including tapas), tea and coffee throughout the day. The village gives free Spanish lessons three times a week. The area is excellent for walking and there are routes of all different lengths available. One route takes you via the remains of a castle which centuries ago was held by the Moors. Our land is on one of the mountainsides and has far-reaching views of mountainous peaks and plenty of sunshine as it is south facing. Village fiestas happen several times a year, which usually involves drinking, dancing and paella and all are welcome.

    Within a 10 minute drive is Velez de Benaudalla which is a bigger village and which has the Nazrid gardens which are beautiful peace gardens leading down to caves. Velez de Benaudalla has a friendly population and has several cafes and bars, one of which people meet in for intercambio and Spanish classes.

    A 20 minute drive brings you to the coast, Salobrena, Alumecar and Motril being the three closest towns in that direction. Our part of the coastline is known as the Costa Tropical, where pleasant beaches, beachbars, nice restaurants and bigger supermarkets can all be found, aswell as a more multinational clientele. All of these towns have charming old parts to them with typical examples of Spanish architecture, steep narrow streets and authentic Andalusian way of life.

    40 mins by car is the Alpujarras, a well known and stunning mountain range directly east of us. There are numerous very attractive towns and villages in the Alpujarras with a large number of eco-minded foreigners amongst their numbers. The Alpujarras sit at the foothills of the Sierra Nevada, mainland Spain's highest mountain range, the top of which is covered in snow for at least half of the year, during which a busy ski resort is open. Motorway access means that the Sierra Nevada is about an hour's drive away.

    From Granada (approx 45 minute drive) the Sierra Nevada is visible. Granada is a great city with the albaicin (the old Moorish quarter) and the Alhambra being must-see places. It also has all sorts of modern shopping opportunities but plenty of old charm aswell. As does Malaga which is a 2.5 hour bus journey and well worth a visit. There are stunning views out to sea from its castle, lovely craft markets along the port, plenty of bodegas where lovely local wine can be learnt about and a great central food market. Very Andalusian with lots of evidence of customs dating far back.

    Whilst we can't guarantee providing our car for transport, if we are going somewhere that interests you or you need a lift to catch public transport from somewhere then we may be able to help you with this. The journey times that I have quoted relate to car use and obviously public transport will take longer.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would appreciate help with treecare (mainly pruning and disposal of of low level branches), the olive harvest (seasonal work which involves laying nets and beating the trees with sticks to get the olives to fall), maintanance of vegetable patch and light labouring, planting fruit and vegetable beds, drip feed systems , and which includes helping to build low walls and repairing a swimming pool back to working order (a swimming pool which you are welcome to use once it is operational). Explanation and instruction can be given for anything we ask you to do and we are happy to take people from all skill levels. Previous experience is not required as one never truly stops learning.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We will make our bell tent available. It is a typical white bell tent with sides that can be raised to improve air circulation. It stands on a flat pitch on a terrace that has particularly lovely mountain views across farmland. We will provide mattress, bedding and pillow, aswell as bathroom facilities (inclduing flushing porcelain toilet) plus an outdoor kitchen. There are numerous areas of seating dotted about the land aswell as a dining table under one of the trees. Hand washing for clothes and laundary are on site. Fresh bedding supplied weekly.
    Self catering and occasional communal meals provided. There is a kitchen , essentials & ingredients and fresh produce will be supplied. Cereals and fruit juices for breakfast, basic packed lunch and a stocked larder for self catering / communal evening meals. Weekends self catering.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I can take upto three motor homes, two large upto 7.7t and one van sized

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs only.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4.5 hours a day .weekends off.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 345343113729