Join us and help out with some small home improvements, gardening and pet care in Ware, MA, USA



Bisher 29 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 22 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    We are a couple working to rehab an 1800's house in Ware, MA. We've come a long way since starting last summer, and are now looking to work on the landscaping and gardening this coming summer, as well as additional interior painting.

    We are both educators, open minded, and friendly. We like to host guests, hold communal dinners, explore hikes in the area, and play board games. We would welcome you to join in and you are welcome to have guests over as long as they are respectful of the house and inhabitants*. Our cat Gwen enjoys finding the sunny spot on the couch, running around the house like a maniac, and cuddles. Our rabbit Senator Bunny Sanders enjoys hopping around the house in search of fuzzy socks, getting treats, and being adorable. Herman the axolotl likes eating worms and smiling. We recently added three hens: Emmy Lou, Sheryl, and Dolly for fresh eggs.

    *Because of COVID-19 we are no longer inviting friends/family into our house, and are not going to their houses either. We limit trips to the store for essentials only, are only socializing outdoors with distance, and wear a mask when we are out. We would expect our Workaway Helper to follow these same practices to minimize risk of spread of the virus when staying with us.

    The house is 1900 sq ft with large yard, fire pit, garden, and a short walk to nearby shops. We are on a busy street so traffic can be noisy during the day but tends to quiet down at night. Close to the Quabbin trails, Amherst, Northampton, Springfield, and Worcester.

    This space is perfect for artists, entrepreneurs, writers... you will have plenty of time to work on your own projects here.

    Currently accepting Workawayers interested in a shorter stay of 1-3 weeks this fall, winter, and spring.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This help exchange experience will give you the flexibility to explore the area and dive deep into local culture and nature, while getting hands on experience gardening, caring for animals, and home improvement.

    While we aren't able to provide all meals (beyond breakfast ingredients, basic staples, homemade Kombucha, bread, & yogurt and what is grown/raised and occasional shared meals) We can instead offer a few bonuses to hopefully add to your experience:

    -The hours/schedule are flexible to give you a chance to explore the area, work on personal projects, or find local work. I can do my best to help you find local paid work if you are interested.

    -Access to my garage pottery studio with wheel and kiln and supplies. I can teach the basics!

    - Learn how to vermicomost (composting with worms to build soil biology)

    - Learn how to brew Kombucha and ferment yogurt

    -A car will not be provided, but I can arrange to drive you places when I am available and/or can pick up any supplies you need. If you have a drivers license in the states you might have an opportunity to borrow the car if all works out.

  • Arbeit


    The help:
    - Home Improvement: Mostly painting, but also some carpentry and landscaping if you are able
    - Gardening: Help maintain the kitchen garden, plant berry bushes, trees, etc. We are open to any and all ideas! You are welcome to any of the food you help grow.
    - House chores: Help out with cleaning, tidying, lawn care, etc. as needed.
    - Pet Care: help with daily care for our cat, rabbit, axolotl, and chickens

    Upcoming Project Ideas:
    - Set up the indoor garden - microgreens, worm bins, etc.
    - Identify tree species
    - Build more cold frames to extend the growing season
    - Replacing the lawn: Planting native flowers & clovers
    - Composting/vermicompost
    - Cutting back bittersweet
    - Upstairs Painting
    - Build porch railings/replace lattice
    - Rain barrel/gutters
    - Embed bricks along driveway

    We are looking for someone that is comfortable with animals, independent, a good communicator, and reliable. We are open to you potentially bringing a well-behaved pet. Start/end dates flexible.

    You won't be asked to help more than 10 hours/week. Flexible time off, we just ask that you are available to care for the pets during the time we are away.

    If this is the kind of thing you are looking for, send us a message with a bit about yourself and why you think you'd be a good fit!

  • Languages

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    English: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Private room in a house with a comfortable full size futon. Access to shared bathroom, kitchen, and common areas. Relax in the living room, borrow one of our many books, or watch TV (we have Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Disney +). You will be able to use the WiFi and indoor Washer/Dryer.

    The bedroom is furnished with a comfortable full sized futon, rocking chair, mirror, and closet. You would have shared access to the bathroom (downstairs), living spaces, spacious kitchen, and outdoor areas. Opportunity to grow your own food in the garden. The house is 1900 sq ft with large yard, fire pit, garden, and a short walk to nearby shops. We are on a busy street so traffic can be noisy during the day, but tends to quiet down at night. Close to the Quabbin trails, Amherst, Northampton, Springfield, and Worcester.

    The house is shared with me and my Fiancé (Cameron), but there will be times that you are alone on the property when we are away. We would expect you to be responsible for cleaning up after yourself and preparing most your own meals. Basic food and breakfast ingredients will be provided (flour, spices, oatmeal, cereal, rice, oil, milk, eggs, etc.) with fresh eggs from the chickens if we're lucky. You are welcome to harvest any food from the garden or land. We will try to do at least 1 shared meal/week, but for the most part you will be responsible for your own meals.

    There is plenty of parking so you are welcome to bring your own car. If you don't have a car we can arrange to drive you places when available and/or can pick up any supplies you need. We are within walking distance of grocery stores and restaurants, and an up-and-coming town center.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I am happy to help arrange trips to nearby sights, shops, etc. and can drive you when I am available. We can also arrange trips to Boston so that you can experience the city. We sometimes travel to New Hampshire or Vermont for weekend camping trips and would be happy to invite you along if that interests you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a high speed internet connection. Your private room has a desk and there are also shared work areas in the living room, dining room, and outdoor picnic area (although the wifi doesn't always cooperate outside) Plenty of coffee & tea to share!

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a backyard and wrap-around driveway for you to park in. Maximum of 1 month stay, sorry. The backyard feels isolated and rural - complete with picnic table, fire pit, and hammock... but we are close to a busy road and the traffic can be noisy during the day.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum of 10 hours/week

two of our three hens, foraging on the compost pile
Our garden in its first year. This fall we are building new beds to have a bigger garden next year!
We started the raised beds this year, using a no-till sheet mulching technique
3 of our hens - Sheryl, Dolly, and Emmy Lou
Your hosts! (Minus the horses, sadly)
Senator Bunny Sanders
The private upstairs room for our Workawayers, complete with comfortable futon, desk space, mirror, and a closet.
The cozy living room. Feel free to borrow a book or watch TV (we also have Netflix)
We raise worms to compost our food scraps and build our soil. Come learn how to Vermicompost!
A view of the shaded portion of the backyard
The house is situated on 0.85 acres. We have turned some of this space into a garden, although this photo was taken before the garden was started
We are a short drive from the many hiking trails around the Quabbin Reservoir. While swimming is not allowed here, it is a great place for picnics and you are allowed to take a boat out. We have two kayaks available to borrow.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 992499198483