Help at our small farm and enjoy perfect hikes or skiing, in Hardanger close to Bergen, Norway

Country

Norwegen

Bisher 217 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 20 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Olav (38) and Vendel (37), a couple with a small farm in Hardanger, Norway. We raise sheep and grow organic apples. The farm is situated with a view to the Hardangerfjord and to Folgefonna glacier to the south, and mountains to the north. Only a ten-minute walk to the center of Øystese. From Øystese it is one and a half hour by bus to Bergen to the west, and the same to Voss to the east. The surrounding mountains are great for skiing and hiking.

    Olav is working full-time as a CNC-operator and Vendel is working as an AB at a high-speed boat.

    We grow our apples organically, and our sheep are grazing outside from May until November. Our vision for the farm includes improving the soil with the use of biochar and cover crops, and as little use of pesticides and herbicides as possible.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hardanger is Norways number one fruit growing region, and a stay at our farm is a chance to learn from us and along with us about modern fruit growing.

    The surrounding mountain areas are perfect for hikes, and for skiing in the winter. Øystese has an art museum/exhibition and sometimes there are concerts. We can show you around a little but we are mostly busy working both on and off the farm.

    We are both fond of travelling, but for the time being the better option is letting the world come to us. We are looking forward to share our Norwegian (farmer-) culture with you, and also to learn something from you.

    If you enjoy reading, we have heaps of books on subjects like self sufficiency, gardening, farming and food preservation. Or sci-fi, if that's your cup of tea.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a newly planted orchard that needs care throughout the growing season. Now in winter we are pruning the trees. We still have some work to be done on the trellis system and the watering system.

    Feeding the sheep morning and evening is the most important task in the winter. Lambing is in April, and we could use some extra hands for that. From May until October the sheep are on pasture. In May and Sept-Oct they are on pastures close to home, June through August up in the mountains. This winter we will do some work on the interior of our sheep house, and need some help with that.

    Winter activity on our farm include forest tasks; clearing pastures and cutting and chopping wood. It is great if you have any experience using a chainsaw and driving a tractor, but not a necessity. Instructions and training will be given :)

    We are also building a production room for making apple cider. If you have any skills as a carpenter or plumber it is great, but general handiness goes a long way.

    You will be expected to work five hours a day five days a week.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have different options for accomodation for workawayers. (We choose where you stay though..)

    Option 1
    Small apartement that is part of a 200 year old farmhouse. Very suitable for a couple. There you have shower, wc and a small kitchen. Washing machine is shared with us in the main house. The apartement has a wood stove for heating as well as heated floors. There is a TV and a wifi connection.

    Option 2
    Garage loft with one separate bedroom. There is a living room with a sofa and a desk, and two spare beds. A small fridge and possibilities for light cooking. There is no water in the garage loft. Toilet and shower is in the basement of the main house. Good WiFi and internet cable connection, and also a tv screen.

    Option 3
    Mountain cottage about 4 km from the farm. Situated by Lake Fitjadalsvatnet. Only practical if you have a car or some other means of transportation. 3 big beds here. Tap water and wc but no shower, so you need to go to the farm for that and laundry. Gas stove for cooking and wood stove for heating. No electricity, no wifi.

    You will make your own breakfast an evening meals, but most days we can eat dinner together in the main house as the kitchen here is more suitable for cooking larger meals. We take turns cooking dinner. Lunch together in the weekends. We will provide you with necessary groceries. We are not vegetarian.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are primarily looking for a couple, because we are both working full time beside the farm, and thus you will be alone at the farm in the daytime most weekdays. Sometimes you can borrow a car, if you have a driver license of course.

    Your working hours may not always be fixed. Sometimes your help will be most needed in the evenings and weekends.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Good wifi available.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Room for an rv.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (4.7)














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 992232142749