1 / 5

Experience life on a farmstead and learn about foraging and self-sufficiency in Kenai, Alaska, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 41 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 1 Juni 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    May 20, 2023: current openings for July, September, October! Our sawmill is up and running and we are in full on wood harvest mode. It is currently sunny with occasional rain, the snow is finally gone and the ground is starting to dry out. We have improved accommodations, it is still camping style. Looking for intrepid adventurers! We have installed an insulated floor in the Shelter Logic "cabin" and a wood stove. We have accommodations two or more guests. Families, a couple or friends traveling together are welcome! I am adding an additional tent. They have worked out really well.

    We are a community based Farmstead that is just starting out. We love building community in many different facets and enjoy doing so with people who are seeking this out. ❤️

    We live partially off grid/rough on our 48 acres on the edge of 15000 acres of wetland preserve. We enjoy abundant wildlife and many scenic wonders. Right now is abundant with photography opportunities. I take our visitors on many photography Excursions.

    We had a tragic fire and lost our newly completed barn to a fire caused by a lithium ion battery in a thermal runaway event. We lost 47 of our animals. We are cleaning up the site and begining to rebuild.

    Guests who are interested in camping or building their own shelter are always welcome and increase our capacity.

    We are proud of the learning environment we provide and have taught the following skills (or have a local resource for teaching the skill) to our woofers:
    A. Operation of the following equipment (voluntary):
    Chainsaw, Chainsaw Mill, Bark Knife, Drill, Hammer, Axe, Gas Auger, Post Hole Digger, Rotary Saw, Driver, Shovel, Case Tractor, Wood Stove, Maul, welder, Electric Log Splitter, Ladder
    B. Snow removal with a tractor, Building a fire in a wood stove, Cold weather camping, Dip netting, Building with upcycled materials, Off grid systems
    Tree Felling, Bucking up a tree, stacking wood, welding, how to lift, pouring foundations in cold weather, and soooo much more.

    Our 48.11 acre homestead is located within 3 miles of public beach access and is at the end of a road. We are bordered by 2 undeveloped properties and several thousand acres of native corporation wetlands. Moose and Sand Hill Cranes are frequent visitors. Bears are possible but rare. I have seen a coyote and a Caribou nearby, rare but not as rare as a bear.

    We are a family of 4, children aged 8 and 5. We have 2 dogs, 2 cats and chickens, ducks, geese and turkeys and 3 goats with more on the way. We dream of having a self sustained farm that provides all our and our guests needs and produces cut flowers, honey, cheese and produce for farmers market.

    Current projects:
    harvest trees, mill Lumber!
    Barn - rebuild
    Sandpoint well -
    Cabin (foundation completed!!)
    Outdoor kitchen and yoga center
    Bath house
    Market Garden site
    High Tunnel Site
    Spruce Beetle Kill Management
    Second 5th wheel site
    Fixing plumbing on travel trailer
    DONE!! Dirt work for driveway and building sites

    Tourism around us:

    The Kenai Peninsula is known as the playground of Alaska. Year round. There is fishing, hunting, hiking, festivals (one of which is a music festival just a mile away on a neighboring farm!!) And many outdoor events and attractions.

    We basically live in a moose nursery and see multiple daily. I am an avid photographer and I am excited to take our visitors to see wildlife and once in a lifetime photography opportunities.

    Current accommodations:

    Shelter Logic "cabin" with wood stove.
    No running water but we do have a well with a hose - Primitive sanitation (but sanitary)

    We would be very excited to welcome someone interested in making a bunk house for future woofers!

    I believe nature tells us everything we need to know to successfully garden and farm. I make and discuss these observations with anyone who will listen and believe everyone has something to contribute to these conversations. We also believe in personal freedoms and welcome all people and reserve the right to acknowledge when we are a good fit.

    We would love to connect with anyone who has experience with alternative construction, but any and all people are welcome!

    If you don't love super furry and friendly Pet Me Now animals, you likely will be uncomfortable.

    Families welcome.

    We welcome your personal accommodations as well. Someone interested in a longer stay may wish to bring their own canvas tent, travel trailer or discuss alternatives with us.

    We reccomend flying in via Grant Air as their planes afford a better view! If you would like to experience the drive to Anchorage we are willing to help one way for a fee equal to the airfare as it is 6 plus hours for us to do the round trip. 😀

    Organic methods: No till/compost

    Certifications: We have just started. We are no till. Compost and wood ash only.

    Current projects: Market Garden
    Milling wood
    Beetle Kill Felling
    Sandpoint Well
    House Site
    High Tunnel Site
    Animal shelters

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Cold weather self sufficiency and survical skills. Foraging. Upcycling. Alternative building. Photography. Machinery.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    I am a homeschool mom and need lots of assistance while I am keeping the kids busy and doing projects around the farm. I am very flexible on which work someone may prefer. It is generally best that you like children and overly friendly fur buddies.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Norwegian: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I love hearing other languages but have never learned one to fluency. I would love to continue learning Norwegian, German and Russian.

  • Unterkunft


    Wall tent with wood stove and insulated floor. Large enough for two single volunteers, a couple or small family comfortably.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I will ensure you get to do some Excursions when you are here. We have had some epic ones! Wilderness area hiking, moose walks, moon photography, aurora photography and viewing, sunrise and sunset photography and viewing Excursions. There is a small chance for almost any sort of crazy adventure for the spontaneously brave soul.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 971435218572

Weitere Bilder


Hilf uns rund ums Haus, Ewa Beach, USA
DIY and natural straw-bale building, North Carolina, USA