Discover the magic of our mountain top, homesteading and engaging in the progressive community of Vermont, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 173 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a dad & daughter (14) with a loving, crazy Airedale, living on a 50 acre pinnacle with distant 360 degree views of both the Green & White Mountains. From sunrise to sunset we are enjoying ourselves and loving the land, with 25 miles of adjoining hiking/biking trails. There's generally a refreshing breeze here, but when it gets too warm we head down to our stream & spring fed pond, which is a piece of heaven -- deep and cool. Our whole mountain is magical, with strong meridians, and located in a very artsy & forward thinking part of southern Vermont.

    And yes, there's a lot involved in being good land stewards (even though we're not a commercial farm), so we have many diverse projects, and you might assist in managing our extensive no-till, permaculture garden (or helping expand it, and our season), making meals, clearing brush, nurturing the flower beds, cutting or putting up firewood, doing arts & music with Luna, or building a steam hut and other structures, for a few hours most days. If you have a penchant for organizing, or have a talent for on-line sales, our most recent mission is getting rid of "stuff", and while not complete Luddites, we'd welcome some 21st Century assistance. We're into communal living & learning, and have big plans for the future. Our outdoor Kitchen Pavilion is being christened, as is our glamping Tree House. My daughter & I have both been fully vaccinated & boosted, and ask that you are too. We don't wear masks up here, but we do when engaging in public, and request that you always wear N-95s when out as well -- for the protection of our guests & us. That's so we can all stay safe, and be "normal" at home until this pandemic is fully resolved. We have a "Covid Code" to fill out, to benefit ALL, and (in this litigious world...) a waiver form.
    Let's keep it real, and heal -- our planet, through ourselves.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are World-Travelers (35+ countries), and free-thinking liberals that seek mutually beneficial relationships and strong communication, which is key. Life's day to day aspects seem best addressed through our perpetual efforts toward mindfulness of each action we take, and the underlying acknowledgement of the brevity of our own spiritual journey between two mysteries. Let's make the time to help each other cherish the sacred in each moment that we are given. When you're not learning something about everything here, we hope that you'll be sharing your life experiences. Intellectual dialogue and practical hands-on knowledge covering a wide swath of people, places & things can provide a constant exchange of information and ideas. If we don't know something, we know someone who does, and we are actively engaged in our community. You're going to learn a lot about a lot -- and teach us, too. We are (Covid-allowing) socially active, and welcome you to join us in our adventures. You can also just kick back around the fire pit with some music, or in a hammock with an adult bev and take in star-lit nights that may blow your mind. We enjoy having our guests become our friends, and hope that they will return.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There's lots of good healthy roll-up-your-sleeves farm-type work to be done daily, which is interspersed with a mix of less romantic rotating projects, but none too terribly arduous, and certainly not boring. We have a tractor to help with heavy work, a pick-up truck, and just about every imaginable hand and power tool you've encountered -- and then some. You'll have the opportunity to use them, or learn how. I have a PhD from the School of Hard Knocks, and am a willing teacher, so that you don't have to be a graduate, too. We'll work in tandem a good deal of the time, but there are certainly plenty of autonomous projects here that you can address on your own. We encourage self-starters and divergent points of view. At present we could use assistance gardening, cooking, moving firewood, finishing the sauna (w/ mural?!) & other structures, clearing out the barn, listing on CL/eBay, painting, maintenance & repair of buildings & equipment, cutting back brush, designing a steam hut and maybe a pizza oven, and teaching art/music/cursive/guitar/voice/piano/language, etc. to my 14 y.o. daughter, Luna. Or, bringing your eyes & experience to approach something that you envision.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Thai: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Languages are the keys to other cultures, and they bring us inside a world that we can't otherwise fully understand. Plus, they show appreciation, and an effort to reach out beyond our own threshold.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have enhanced spaces for you to create your own outdoor environment, and we also have several private woodsy dwellings of a more charming, traditional nature that will keep you cozy and dry. A stylin' larger abode with a separate upstairs bedroom for two, has a wood stove, sink with counters & cabinets, and a mini-kitchen, so you could stay into the fall, possibly through the winter. Another is an insulated mini-cabin with a single bed and a tiny sink. It also has heat which could allow a visit through November. Both have electricity and use either a port-o-potty or outhouse, and may have running water (catchment?) sometime this summer. There are other intriguing living options as well, for couples or singles, and you might help build or finish some. Oh, and we just picked up a '65 Airstream that we'll be tuning up! You can tent it if you'd like, but we find that roofs come in awfully handy.

    We can share many breakfasts and dinners together to relax & converse, and you'll also get some supplies to supplement fixing your own food as well. Lunch we often do on the fly. In season, the garden is generally pretty robust (as long as we keep the crop rotation going. ;0 We eat TONS of greens, as I was a complete vegebatarian for 17 years (and a vegan for 1, which was tough! ;), and am quite handy in the kitchen, cooking to suit most (but not all) of your dietary preferences -- but enjoy eating other's culinary creations. Our 5-Star International Cuisine temps diners to "seconds", and we welcome guest chefs. We're usually up and engaged from about 7:00am to 9:00pm, but try to eat breakfast by 8:30 or 9:00 and dinner around 6:30 or 7:00, keeping our afternoons free (but we're pretty flexy.) Our summer schedule runs a bit later with the longer daylight hours, and days off can rotate between weekends to mid-week, depending on Luna's school, and tourist traffic. Oh, and there's usually a passable cell signal and fiber-optic WiFi access from the central buildings and some of the others, which is pretty sweet in lil' ole Vermont.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are near a lot of great spaces & places, which involves a drive in this part of the country, that is steeped in history and natural beauty. The "Fourteenth State" has always had traditional Yankee roots while being progressive and free-thinking, and that tradition carries on today. Brattleboro is about half an hour away (and quite the hip little berg, rated "Top Ten" in several categories) as is Keene, N.H., and there's a fair amount to do in both, culturally and practically. Putney and Bellows Falls (10-15 minutes -- normally for entertainment, movies, restaurants, laundry, hardware, etc,) are also happening, but on a smaller scale. We get out to hear local music, go to Gallery Walk, hitting other fun stuff that pops up (and there's lots), and have a strong social, tribal connection with another Workaway host family of 4, nearby. Public transportation is pretty sketchy in Vermont, but we go out almost daily and you might use a vehicle (stick-shift) if you needed one to shop or whatever. And we have bikes of all sorts. We work hard, but we play hard. And we do "party", but at the right time, in the right place, believing in moderation of all things. And in joining our family, you'll experience some dad/daughter banter, so brace yourself for life with a teenager. Please write me if you have any questions or needs that might help you consider a visit to our gates. Aloha.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have fiber-optic and multiple access points, whether you are a casual or professional user.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a number of good spots that can offer views, power and water, as well as bathroom facilities.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Our dog loves pals but sometimes takes them on "adventures" (aka runs away! ;), but a bit less so, now that she is 12. If you have a pooch, they absolutely must be friendly, obedient, and garden savvy.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, or equivalent

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (4.7)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 412967276989