House and garden renovation and permaculture project in Geneva, Switzerland

Country

Schweiz

Bisher 57 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.06.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Update: NO HELP needed in 2020.

    I'm Catherine, in my early 50's and work from home. I live in a typical Genevois style old house in the Geneva countryside, with a large garden gone a little bit wild over the past two years. I live with several dogs and a cat, and have poultry and rabbits in the garden.
    In 2018 I've followed a Permaculture Design course, and now reorganizing my garden (and later my house) accordingly.
    My house is a non-smoker, vegetarian and pro-vegan (eat my chicken's eggs) home.
    I enjoy meeting new people from all over the world, and I'm hosting for free travelers through a well known social network, for many years.
    I love art and creativity and someone with an artistic soul would be welcome to share painting, drawing and all sorts of DIY activities during time off.
    For a few years I'm very interested in non-religious spirituality, meditation, etc..
    I'm also enjoying walking and hiking, and if my schedule permits would be happy to visit and hike Switzerland and nearby France with my guests.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn French. Whatever your native language is, a good level of English is required.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    In 2018, I have attended a course in Permaculture Design, and have started redesigning my garden which had become some sort of a jungle over the past three years.

    I do prefer to host only 1 workawayer.
    Stay duration is minimum 4 days, up to a few weeks.

    GARDEN
    Basically I usually do everything myself, but really need help now.
    Redesign the garden in a permaculture spirit. Permaculture skills welcome, but not mandatory, and I will be happy to share what I'll have learned during my course.
    In a more general way things to do in the garden:
    - fix the fences (hammer the poles into the ground or use a thermic auger)
    - cut the hedge
    - cut some branches and little trees
    - uproot some bushes / little trees (using a spade or an pickaxe)
    - clear up the remains (messy branches) of a huge pine tree which collapsed during winter
    - stack firewood
    - build a pair of pillars for a small but heavy garden gate

    BUILDING WORK in the garden
    - change the woodfloor of the chicken coop
    - build a waterproof roof over the chicken daypark
    - build a greenhouse
    - build a carport (carpenter skills required)

    BUILDING WORK in the house
    - change the shower tub (plumber skills required)
    - fix the ceiling of the bathroom (lots of cracks, need replaster; specific skills required)
    - repointing wall joints (masonry skills required)

    COOKING
    Vegetarian and vegan cookings skills are welcome, as I'm a lazy cook ....

    ANIMAL CARE
    For info, I have two dogs, and also dogsit my friends' dogs. As well as a cat, chicken, ducks and rabbits. I do not expect the worker(s) to take care of the animals.

    WEBDESIGNING
    I have an internet project linked to dogs and would need help to create a website.

    More to come ....

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    July-August: Private bedroom with a double size bed (140 cm)
    September: Tent in the garden (tent is a 2-3 persons size; sleeping equipment provided)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My house is located in a small countryside village, close to Geneva city.
    Nearest town is Carouge (8-12 min. by bus), then another 20-30 min. to the center with another bus or tramway.
    You can easily bike (if you have one) or make long walks around the house. Or go to the city center and take a coach or a train to visit Switzerland.
    The French border is very close and food shopping in France or hiking on Mount Salève is feasible without a car.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 935476287492