Come and help with animal care on our non-profit animal rescue ranch in Morris, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 94 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our Animal Ranch & Rescue was founded to rescue animals in need to rehab and rehome them or let them life out their life here in safety in peace, as well as revive this fallow land in a sustainable way through regenerative farming with farm animals that will live happily every day of their life.

    The Rescue being brand new there is barely any money coming in yet, donations are still scarce and there is a lot of infrastructure that has to be build up and land be improved; rescuing is an expensive undertaking it turns out; the Ranch is there to support the Rescue but it’s just pocket money coming in for now, and so I am looking for real volunteers, passionate people who want to make a difference and that are willing to pay for their own food beyond bed & breakfast.
    During the summer all animals are out grazing and so there is not a ton of work apart from keeping the barn and shelter areas as well as keeping the house clean so it’s literally only a couple of hours of work in the morning as well as in the evening.
    If you have carpentry skills to help build or improve coops, hay feeders or small A-frame guest mini-cabins (for which plans exist) and other things then it would be full board, but again, as this is a registered 501(c)3 non-profit animal rescue we are looking for volunteers to donate not only their time but also their board. Staying here is always free.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will enjoy a wonderful stay with lots of love from the animals and satisfaction from working on improving the land. The Ranch & Rescue is located in a side valley of the beautiful Butternuts Valley which is a magical and peaceful place. If you love nature and animals then this is the place for you. Working with the animals is so rewarding and helping save lives is the best feeling ever.
    I lived in Germany for most of my life before moving to the US in 2015 and rescue-rehabbing dogs in Florida before starting the Ranch & Rescue in 2021. I have traveled worldwide extensively in my previous professional life and love meeting people from all over the world. Now I am a beginning rancher and despite having taken courses most days I am winging it and could write a book on how/what not to do while I am in a constant learning process.

    There are trails on the 190 ac property to walk or ride on. The creek that’s running along the property line can serve as a welcome refreshment on hot days although during a dry spell it gets pretty low.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The Ranch & Rescue were founded in spring of 2021 with minimum infrastructure on land that has lain fallow for almost 2 decades. There are horses, mules and donkeys, cats and dogs in the rescue, there are Scottish Highlanders, goats and chickens at the Ranch (as of 11/21). The farm animals are kept as natural as possible in herds and flocks out in pastures and are rotationally grazed. The goats and cows job is to revive the land through grazing which requires moving fences every so often until permanent fences can be build. Among the horses can be individuals that need extra feed typically twice a day (because they came here skin and bones or because of old age) and during the winter months goats, cows and equines need extra hay. The chickens and ducks need to be let out mornings and get closed up in the evenings and get food and water every day.
    Fences need to be checked regularly and during the summer months the fence lines need to be weed-wacked once a week, grass gets mowed weekly and some areas bush hogged regularly. Horse and goat shelters and the chicken coop need to be kept clean on a daily basis.
    There are many maintenance projects from fences to buildings to equipment and machines as well as tree/bush trimming or keeping the trails clear.
    There is definitely never a dull moment here but it's always rewarding.
    The dogs and cats are providing love and fun, they don't live in crates but free inside the home and on the property. They need food and water and litter box cleaning, nail trimming and grooming. The house needs to be kept clean and tidy.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am German born and lived in Germany for most of my life. In my previous career I traveled all over Europe and other parts of the world and I previously learned French and Italian but since I haven't used these two languages in years my knowledge has gotten basic. I loved to travel other countries and cultures and miss that part of my previous life a bit.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The farm house has a guest room with a separate bathroom/shower. The downstairs area (kitchen, dining- and living room) are common spaces.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This area is for anyone who loves nature and the outdoors. We are quite rural yet Gilbertsville, which is just a 7 min drive, is a very artsy town and has a wonderful artisan bakery. Morris has a great ice cream shop open during the summer. There is lots of State Land and are many creeks and rivers, as well as lakes within an hour's drive. Best towns within 90 min drive are Oneonta, Cooperstown and Ithaca, Binghampton and Albany, the Catskills are only an hour drive and Syracuse is just under 2 hours drive. It's 3.5h to Manhattan.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    The farm house has a guest room with a separate bathroom, but it also has an office space and high speed internet. There is no cell service in this valley so only wifi-service.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    This being a farm there are several spots to park an RV although WIFI reception is only near the farm house.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    This being an Animal Ranch & Rescue I always welcome pets that are well behaved although they might have to be leashed until they are used to not chase/kill the chickens and cats (and other animals)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    approx. 5 hours a day approx. 5 days/week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 935233117485