Work and Travel in Amerika



Bisher 1444 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • paid opportunity



  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    We have all the help we need at this time.

    Our Farm borders thousands of acres of national forest land and features: an organic garden; an original homestead house built in 1909, 8 yurts; a wood-fired hot tub; open meadows and forests (walking trails connect the varying mix of conifers and hardwoods); campsites; main living quarters; campers kitchen in a converted city bus, barn and workshop; and a children's play area. A year round creek flows through the property and our drinking water comes from a natural mountain spring.

    From May - September the farm is open to camping in tents and small RVs in our forest and meadows. We also rent out our 8 yurts and the cabin. Part of the job will be checking in guests and getting the yurts, cabin and camp areas ready.

    There will be garden work, plus tackling some projects including some renovations on our original homestead cabin, finishing out a Tiny House, building some picnic tables, gathering firewood...

    We host 2 folk music events: an Old Time Music campout, which we host over Labor Day Weekend.. 100 participants gather to share their love for American Old-time Music; and a bluegrass campout on the last weekend in August. Both are sponsored by non profit organizations and benefit the carrying on of America's traditional music.

    About Us
    We are a couple with 10 and 5 year old children and an adult son. Jim is American and Britta is from Germany. In addition to the farm, we also own and operate the NW Portland International Hostel. We spend time at both our hostel in Portland and the farm. Our combined expertise and skills are: carpentry, business management, organizational management, downhill and cross country skiing, and child rearing. We are non smokers and conscious of what we eat. Languages spoken are English and German. Our farm manager is Karlee. This will be her 3rd season with us. She has extensive gardening experience.

    Ashley and Kenny joined us this year as our on site managers. They have a 3 year old son. Their experience includes managing camp grounds, maintenance, trail guiding...

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will gain skills in organic gardening techniques, some forestry skills, event planning and implementation, basic back to the land skills, maintenance and carpentry skills, learning to be part of a team, building character and ethics.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

  • Arbeit


    Carpentry, maintenance, gardening and back to the land skills are helpful.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You would be tenting with access to indoor common space, bathrooms with showers and laundry facilities. If you have your own van, small RV or trailers, this is ideal.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are within 1 mile to cafes, a grocery store and hardware store. We have bicycles for you to use to get around the local area. There is public transportation to and from the city of Portland for a minimal fee (under $5).

    Three major rivers are all within the vicinity in addition to Mt. Hood and its numerous wilderness areas full of hiking trails and activities for outdoor enthusiasts.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    small trailer trailers, RVs, and vans (under 25'). We have plenty of space for camping.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    30 to 40 hours per week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 1987723444d9