Help our neurodivergent family in and around the house and learn climbing and aerial acrobatics in Bern, Switzerland

  • Schweiz
  • Bisher 981 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 23 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    Hello =)

    Currently I need help minding and teaching my son. He's 12 years old, experienced heavy bullying at school and subsequently suffered from anorexia. He's on the way to recovery, but still attends school part-time only -
    5 half-days per week. Thus I need some further support in teaching and minding him - mainly languages (English, French, Spanish), possibly some coding or drawing/painting on the tablet, sewing, plus any other thing you're good at. He's very much into mountain-biking and doing crazy stuff on his stunt scooter or on the trampoline. It would be cool though if you could show him that there's so much more to life than that. Whatever your passion is, share it with him! He's Asperger and ADHD (and so are his sister and me). If you have some knowledge or at least awareness of the concept of Neurodiversity that might be super helpful. Our son is very sociable and open. He connects easily with people if they show some interest and sympathy. Our daughter is rather the opposite. She's more introverted and needs a lot of time to herself (so don't ever take that personally). She loves reading, playing the piano (only if nobody listens) and drawing, is into Mangas, Anime and just started learning Japanese on her own.

    I'm a trained teacher for EFL, German and sports, did various other things and am in the process of establishing a Micro-School esp. aimed at neurodivergent students - so any help in that process is welcome (marketing, social media, videos/photographs, - and from June onwards help with getting the rooms for this learning community ready - things like painting walls, moving furniture around, ...).
    My husband Adrian is a self-employed sociologist.

    In my free time I do Aerial Acrobatics. Twice a week we rent a gym-hall and practice some "circus-disciplines" together (parcour, acrobatics, aerial acrobatics, mono-cycle, juggling, ...), which you'd be welcome to join in. If you're into doing any of those you do have the possibility of offering a workshop in this gym hall.

    The kids love to do sports (biking, Basketball, horse-riding, acrobatics, ...), play chess, create sth. on the sewing machine and/or do some woodwork, using a graphic tablet, inline-skating, martial arts, drawing/painting, do Aerial Silk, play the drums and the piano, climbing (out- and indoors, I used to work as a climbing instructor), jumping on the trampoline (we have a good one in the garden) ... if that's sth. you could share with them: great!

    We are living on the edge of a forest in a big house with a big garden, 7 hens, a part-time-dog (we do dog-sharing) and a cat - yet it is just a 15' ride on the train, bus or bicycle (you can borrow one from us) to the capital of Switzerland (it's Bern, not Zurich). I'd love to do more things by myself (though mostly lacking time) - from sewing to knitting to repairing stuff to planting veggies - if you could help here, that'd be great as well!

    Your room is approx. 25 square meters, in the souterrain (which will allow you more privacy) - you can see a picture of it in our photo gallery. You are of course welcome to use all the shared rooms (living room, office in the attic, kitchen, fitness room) as well. The bathroom is shared with the kids. We don't offer hotel-service ;o). You'd of course be expected to do and undo your bed yourself and to clean up after yourself, in the bathroom, in the toilet, in the kitchen and your room before your departure.

    We travel a lot ourselves, have done WWOOFing and workaway and would love to give others the opportunity to travel the world without feeling like a tourist and to have such great experiences we ourselves were able to have.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn a lot about Neurodiversity and why it's important to be aware of it, you can learn Aerial Acrobatics (silk or Lyra/Hoop), climbing - in winter skiing and cross-country-skiing. You can learn/practice German and/or English. You can learn about alternative schooling and education and learning in general. You can get an insight on how to manage a family, how to maintain a house and a garden, how to keep chicken, how to encourage free thinking. You can learn German, improve your English by using it (I'm an English teacher). You can learn how to overcome anorexia nervosa or other eating disorders.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    In general we ask you to help out where possible (cooking, shopping, taking care of the chickens, the cat, the garden,...) and share your passion, language and culture with us and foremost you're encouraged to work towards a relationship with our kids. Do things with them in either French or English, so that they can keep practising those languages plus possibly learn new ones. They are aged 12 and 14 years. Possibly pick them up and drive them to places.
    Apart from that: Anything you are good at - show it to them! It may even be possible for you do earn some money, if you are capable of doing acrobatics, parcour, juggling or any other skill that could be turned into a workshop in the gym hall we rent twice a week. No guarantee for that though.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Japanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    You will have your own room in our house or (see picture) - if preferred - you can camp in the garden or sleep in the tree house. The bathroom is shared with the kids.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    public transport nearby - city (Bern), mountains, rivers, lakes and: THE ALPS
    we can lend you a bicycle, cross-country skiing, ice-skating, inline-sakitng, Aerial-Hoop, Aerial Silk, climbing and skiing equipment.
    We are Flexitarians but mostly eat vegetarian. We'd like to encourage our kids to eat fish or meat again at least once a week. They don't do it, because they love animals. That's perfectly fine, but to recover from anroexia completely one shouldn't have any food restrictions - that's a proven fact, not just an opinion.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 915522697246

Feedback (13)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.9)

Help us cultivate our home's organic garden in Guggisberg, Switzerland
Come to help :-) Stay with me and my daughter in Adliswil, Zurich.