Help on my homestead in the desert near Mesa Verde National Park, USA

  • Bisher 111 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 21 Mai 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    My name is Evan, I'm 41 years old and I live on a 4 acre homestead just outside of Cortez, CO. I live here with my 2 cats, Hunter and Calle and currently 11 chickens. There is also currently a woman living with her dog and cat in a tiny house on the property. I'm from Virginia and had intentions of being a digital nomad and traveling the world. My trip to live in Portugal in 2020 didn't quite work out and so I began traveling the US. Traveling didn't last long as when I reached the four corners area I realized I had found home. I ended up living at a campground the second half of 2020 then house sat for the owners taking care of their animals realizing I loved the lifestyle and the culture here. Soon after I found this space.

    I previously worked in the corporate world for a decade and slowly realized the dissatisfaction with the way my life was going. Over 10 years ago I started on a journey and committed myself to healing and self improvement, getting out of my comfort zone. I dove into all kinds of teachings from mysticism, philosophy, psychology and so on. I began training table tennis which gave me a solid goal and I ended up becoming a coach which was very fulfilling. Part of pushing myself out of my comfort zone was also going to massage school in 2016 and I transitioned to working as a massage therapist for some time before stopping my professional practice in 2019. Now I'm working in the table tennis industry online in the mornings and work for my friend's farm during the growing season. When I'm not doing that I'm focused on improving and cultivating this land, becoming more self sustainable and learning as many skills as possible.

    Along with my passion for ping pong I found a love for disc golf and created a course on the property. Some other interests include golf, yoga, reading, and hiking. I don't keep up with mainstream news much and like small town living. I lean more toward being introverted and spend a lot of time to myself but see great value in building community and find myself being pretty social as well. I've been involved in creating the local disc golf club and regularly have friends over to play my course. I also have friends over for poker games regularly. I'm excited to meet and host new workawayers and hear their stories and share my experience as well.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Mesa Verde National Park is 15 minutes away and there are many historical native dwelling sites around the area. I played competitive table tennis and coached for a few years. There are the disc golf baskets around the property. I have bow and arrows and an archery bag for target practice. So I'm happy to teach someone these skills. I work for a farm and have a bunch of market gardener friends so I've learned basic gardening skills and grow a pretty big garden. I also do some canning and fermenting of the vegetables grown here. I've studied how we use language and and the effects it has on our psyche. I'm always interested to share this information with others and am interested in learning from others ideas and practical tools for self improvement.

  • Arbeit


    2024 projects:
    Fix camper shower and water heater
    Clean out ditch where junk was dumped years ago
    Help in the garden and weeding around property
    Repair a couple of garden tillers
    Install gutters on garage and rain catchment system
    Put new t-molding in camper
    General cleaning/maintenance around house
    Stringing barb wire on top of field fence
    Possibly staining house and porch deck
    Setting up irrigation in garden
    Laying concrete pads for disc golf

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    There is a camper trailer that is fully functional with water, toilet, and fridge outside of the shower not working which is currently being fixed. I have a canvas yurt that can be setup. Also tent camping around the property is an option and I have an extra tent. Should be able to host someone with a smaller RV/Camper or van and there are electric, water and sewage hookups. When needed the main house shower can be used or the stream has a couple of pool areas depending on how rustic you want to get. There's an outhouse for anyone who wants to camp. With past guests I've shared some meals, provided money for groceries and/or picked up specific items from the store. Eggs from the chickens are typically available and vegetables from the garden during the season.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Four Corners is such an amazing area in my opinion. Situated in the high desert with the mountains being a short drive up the road. The house is just outside Cortez which 1 hour from Durango, 1.5 hours from Telluride and 2 hours from Moab. Mesa Verde National Park is 15 minutes away. The small town of Dolores is 10 minutes north and Mancos is 25 minutes east. All of these smaller mountain towns have a charm about them with lots of activities going on. There are so many hiking trails within a relatively short distance away. The house is up on a hill and has great views of Mesa Verde, the La Plata Mountains and the Sleeping Ute Mountain. There is an irrigation stream on the property with a natural pool area if you want to take a dip. It's a nice luxury in the desert. It's very peaceful surrounded by sheep and cattle farms along with other small hobby farms. So it feels like the country yet is a 5 minute drive into Cortez. You can see the milky way on clear nights. I have a bike that is available for use. Along with Mesa Verde there are many other historical native sites around this area including the Canyons of the Ancients trail. Cortez is a small town but has a nice park with disc golf course, recreation center, and there are some good locally owned restaurants and breweries. A championship level golf course is 5 minutes away as well. Dolores is a pretty little town up in the mountains that has parks, a brewery and cidery. Mancos similarly has fun places to visit and has built an artsy culture to go along with it's farming and ranching history. Phils World is a top mountain bike trail destination just outside of town. You can do your shopping and fine dining in Durango and Telluride while also getting in a world class hike. You can also hit the hot springs in Durango or venture a little further out to Pagosa Springs, Ouray or Ridgway. There are some great farmers markets around the area if you like local organic food. With this being Colorado there are plenty of dispensaries for those that are 420 inclined.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    The wifi is strong.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Can accommodate smaller RV's/5th wheels/Campervans. Have electric, water, sewage hookups.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hosting pets would be tough but it is something I'm open to if it is the right situation. My cats are very territorial with other cats and get scared of dogs. A dog would also need to not mess with the chickens that free range. The tiny house tenant currently is keeping her dog on a leash when out.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 913768465847

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Help on private Island in Upper Peninsula of Michigan, USA (Off-the-Grid)
Join us and help with our homestead in Olalla, USA