Off-grid, self-sufficient living on our mountain farm in Figueiro da Serra, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 55 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Ola and welcome to our volunteer page!
    We are a young couple Clara ( 30) and Rohan (35) and are the happy owners of a 5 hectare Organic Offgrid farm in the beautiful mountains of the Serra da Estrela, the biggest natural park in Portugal! We love living, working & creating together with nature in a self-sufficient positive way. We grow our own veggies, make goats cheese, brew beer, bake bread, grow medicinal herbs and make natural cosmetics like olive soap, toothpaste, deodorant, medicinal creams and oils...And lots more!

    We live together on our Quinta ( Farm in Portugese ) with our small heard of cheeky goats, chickens, 2 dogs, Findus the cat, around 20 honey bee colonies and would love to also get a donkey and some ducks in the near future.
    All the animals are part of and contribute to the dynamic system on our farm. Our farming methods are inspired by living in nature, time & experience and by Organic, Bio-Dynamic and Permaculture principles. We believe in working and creating together with nature, building up the soil in our gardens so we can grow healthy crops to feed ourselfs, and our animals.

    We are located in a green vally that's quite remote. Surrounded by only nature, the mountains, old chestnut, oak and willow trees and clear mountain streams. We have a very nice community of friends living around us who share, each in there own way, a similar life style and we sometimes work and celebrate life togther.

    in the past our Quinta was abandoned for a long time as the local people slowly moved away to the cities and villages. step by step we are bringing life back to the fram. re-opening the old traditional irrigation systems of water channels. Planting lots of fruit trees and bushes. Cultivating crops on the old terraces. We also build a polytunnel as a nursery and to extend our growing season, build a small stable for the goats and created a nice volunteers area. On the land is a old ruine that was build with natural granite stone which we are renovating with ecological building materials. There also is a small but cozy wooden house/ workshop on the land in which we live at the moment and a outside kitchen made with round wood and green roof.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    At our organic offgrid farm we offer you the oppertunity to exerience our selfsufficient lifestyle. You will learn many skills abouth selfsufficient living and farmlife!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As a volunteer there is a lot to experience and help out with! Like helping us out in the vegetable gardens and greenhouse. Harvesting medicinal plants, vegetables, fruits, seeds for our own sowing material, nuts, mushrooms and other wildfoods and drying and processing them into many diffrent products like herbal teas, fermented vegetables, fruit juices, jams, flower wines etc. Planting trees, planting and planning the Food forest area. Helping out in natural building projects like the traditional granite farm house and other farm structures. Some general farm maintenance like moving the electric fences for the animals, regenerative landscape maintenance, creating compost heaps and lots more!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    As a volunteer you have a shared caravan as a comunial space with woodburner, small indoors and outdoors kitchen to cook food, gas and running water and solar electricity. Ther's a dry compost toilet and solar shower and chill out space underneath the big sweet chestnut tree and camp area to puth your tent. In wet and cold weather its also possible to sleep inside the caravan. We also have a comunial tipi and tipi tent available as sleeping accomodation. Just below the camp area is a clear mountain stream with small pools to take a refreshing bath and have a cool siesta time.
    We like to work with the system where you help us out for max. 3 hours a day. In return for accomodation and use of the facilities. ( shared caravan with woodburner, kitchen area with gas to cook food, running water, and solar electricity. Compost toilet and solar shower. Camp area with your own tent or our tipi/ tipi tent) You buy and cook your own food or together with the other volunteers. ( there is a farm shop with a small variety of fresh and preserved products like vegetables, eggs, bread, goats cheese, and crafted beer) In the nature around us you can find fruits like grapes, cherries, figs , blackberries, sweet chestnuts, mushrooms and many edible herbs. Sunday is a day off!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our two closest villages are Figueiro da Serra ( +- 2km.) and Linhares da Beira ( +- 1km.)
    Linhares da Beira is a beautiful historical village with castle. It has a couple of cafes, restaurant, and small tourist shop. Figueiro da Serra also has some cafes and has a small grocery shop. We usually go out with our car once a week to get supplies from the bigger town Gouveia ( +- 17km). If you need anything from town you can get a ift with us.

    There is a diverse community of nice people living in our close-by area with diffrent projects and activities you could visit like; yoga, tai massage, horse riding, praragliding, a variety of healing therapies, woman circles and a Buddhist center. We sometimes come togther to make music, have a reggae dance night or just to have a good time!
    We live in a beautiful natural area where you can have nice walks and explore the mountains, abandoned farms and other projects.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 887865118471