Welcome to our enchanted offgrid land - permaculture and eco building in central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 72 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Sebastien is from France originally and lived in Switzerland then Indonesia where he met Felicity from Uk. We moved to Portugal 3 years ago with our cat Odin travelling around in a truck searching for the dream land, we found it and now work very hard to maintain our shared vision. This land is set on the edge of a village near Tabua & Oliveria do hospital. Sebs passion is music & cooking and Felicity has a small ethical clothing business, together we combine our creativity and develop a magical space in which to grow.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Volunteers will have the oppurtunity to Learn & connect with nature and live sustainably and off grid in an alternative lifestyle in a peaceful rural environment in the countryside away from the busy noisy polluted ratrace of modern society.

    The seasons vary but you can learn about the various trees and fruits and nuts, pruning & harvesting,
    We have ancient olive trees that we harvest to eat and produce olive oil that you can pick in November and watch the oil extraction process in the local mill.
    Some fruit we produce we make into alcohol where you can see the process in the local lagar.
    Learn about permaculture & gardening & Various food preserving techniques or forage for wild foods in the forests.
    We have a temporary workshop where you can learn wood skills and building tricks from our friendly carpenter.
    Learn about the culture here in Portugal and pick up Portuguese language from the friendly villagers, or improve your French or English with us!

    There is alot of wildlife that visits the gardens where you see evidence of wild boars & Listen to the abundance of birds sing.
    We also have 19 Bee hives that are thriving really well and knowledge can be shared from the beekeeper who visits.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We're looking for people to get involved with us to maintain our farm, 4hectares of lush terraces and enchanted oak woodlands. We'd really appreciate help with the ongoing care that's needed to manage this beautiful land. We have done most of the hard graft in clearing bushes and brambles but there's still lots to do. Trees to be felled.,wood to be chopped. Streams to be cleared, ponds to be dug..or love to be given in pruning various trees and general land management.
    Our organic vegetable garden has been recently redesigned & now is almost ready for planting for spring. We still need to install the new irrigation system & collect stones to creat a rockery and improve some flower beds.

    The land is very diverse and we feel very lucky to have found such a special place with so much potential to create different areas within this quinta. Help with construction & woodwork & we can bring these ideas into reality!

    We plan to build a retreat in the future and extra compost toilets & shower rooms will need to be built.

    We are looking for enthusiastic hands on practical & creative people ideally with skills and knowledge we can share.

    We are currently building a chalet to expand our living space using local wood and materials...
    Tasks can be physical but always enjoyable especially in the idilic natural environment and sunny climate.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English , French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two clean and tidy caravans that and a huge tent , if you are travelling in your van or camper we have plenty of level space to park up under the olive trees next to the pretty stream.

    We offer lunch and dinner prepared by a Sebastien who is an amazing qualified french chef. Meals are delicious wholesome, healthy & vegetarian.
    We will provide cereal for breakfast and some basic ingredients in the caravan if you wish to cook for yourselves.

    We use a compost toilet and the shower is a basic 15L hand pumped system. We are in the process of upgrading and building a fancier shower.
    All our water is pumped from the well and we visit a local spring to drink from.

    Any questions please message us.
    Look forward to hearing from you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The valley where we live has a lively alternative crowd of dwellers, aswell as welcoming locals.
    There is a big river a few min distance where you can swim or fish if you have a rod, the village is 10 min walk and has a cafe and bakery both with free wifi. The near by towns have local markets and amenities, Sierra estrella mountains are not far and theres lots of beautiful walks in the surrounding nature.
    There are numerous river beaches close by and the ocean is an hours drive. Porto is 2 hrs away and there is a train station and bus station close by.
    We can provide mountain bikes and we go reguarly into town if you wanted to visit.
    We are lucky enough not to be touched by the recent fires so our trees provide shade where you can do yoga or meditate in the peaceful environment.

    We would prefer to host a couple or friends who are travelling together.
    Non smokers preferred during summer season due to high fire risks.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Olives!
Bee hives
Our compost toilet
Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 116178697976