Help revive an old farmstead turning it into a sustainable organic farm in the Algarve hills Monchique, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 108 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    **I am currently looking for someone to help me over the winter months. The work involves tree planting, fire wood making, strimming and land clearance, building of chicken coop and rabbit hutches**

    I'm looking forward to hearing from you :-)

    Would very much welcome helpers with stone work or carpentry skills.

    my vision

    I am living my dream to revive this beautiful old farmstead in the Algarve hills and turn it into an organic food forest farm. Since arriving last summer we have planted a lot of fruit and nut trees, berries, and medicinal and edible plants and are now opening up new vegetable beds for the summer season. Following the principles of permaculture I will be planting many fruits trees, perennial vegetables, seasonal vegetables and lots and lots of medicinal herbs, aiming towards self-sufficiency.

    the land

    Rocha do Corvo is a 10,000m2, south-facing, terraced hillside, nestled in the Monchique mountains. It has a spring, a stream running along the bottom, a small wooden house, a ruin, lots of drystone walling (some need rebuilding) and a camper van. The terraces were last farmed 100 years ago. There are established cork oaks, olives, walnuts, figs, grapevines and an orange tree. Planted this year we have sweet chestnut, hazelnut, peaches, nectarines, apricots, plums, cherries, apples, persimmons, pomegranate, blueberries, raspberries and more. Along the river there are a lot of large alder and willow trees and also some eucalyptus.
    The hillside is in a valley and overlooks a natural forest. It is secluded and the nearest neighbours (5 houses) is about 1 km away. The closest village, Marmelete, is 3 km up a steep hill. Once you’re up there, Aljezur is 17km to the west and Monchique about the same to the east. In Aljezur you have incredibly beautiful beaches and surfing opportunities.

    you?

    Are you fit and active? Do love being “in the middle of nowhere”, surrounded by nature? Do you enjoy time alone? Do you enjoy working hard? Do you have a passion for growing food or tackling a little building project (wood or stone)? Do you enjoy eating healthy food fresh from the land? Do you have your own transport?

    the help

    The chores on the land are often hard. It is a steep hillside that hasn’t been farmed for 100 years! You will need to be fit and will leave fitter :-)

    Most of the terraces have recently been planted with fruit trees and vegetables and this needs regular watering and care.

    Other tasks include:
    regenerating soil
    creating new gardens - fruit and veg
    strimming and land clearing
    building a 2nd compost toilet
    roofing and decking around the camper van
    Chopping and storing firewood
    felling trees and chainsawing - no longer permitted so only from October - April
    reforesting the hillside (winter work only)

    We work about 5 hours a day 5 days a week.

    my offering

    There is a camper van and a bell tent on the land both of which can accommodate a single person or a couple. I can cook for you 5 days a week or we can happily share this task. There are a lot of vegetables growing on the land and this is our fresh food source. You can use the bathroom in the wooden house for hot showers or hose down by your van / tent. We also cook and eat at the wooden house, which is where I live.
    I’m a shiatsu therapist and an English teacher. I know a lot about gardening organically, growing medicinal herbs, making plant medicines, shamanic practice and more… I am open and willing to share my gifts and experience.

    me

    Already in my childhood I realised that something wasn’t right with the way humanity lives. My reaction as a teenager was to become an eco-anarchist, live in a truck and “fight the system”. Once the travellers lifestyle became difficult in the UK in the late 80s, I left, travelled through Europe in my truck and landed in SW Portugal. I fell in love with the nature and life here. The incredibly beautiful ocean and the amazing open and clear night skies healed me of my need to fight. I remembered “to be the change you want to see”. I became a solutions person. I built a house (in those days it was so cheap here) and a garden and lived in peace with nature and the community.
    In 2003 as a struggling single mum it all became too much to manage on my own and I sold my land and moved to Germany. The plan was to stay 1.5 years and it ended up as 16. I set up a business English coaching company, my daughter went to school and the years went by.
    During this time I did a shamanic apprenticeship and trained to become a shiatsu therapist.
    In 2020, at long last, I came home. Home is a beautiful, steep, terraced hillside nestled in the Monchique mountains.
    I meditate, do yoga, practise shamanism, grow food, work hard, experience nature, live rustically and very simply. These are the things that make me happy.
    I’m kind, honest, open, respectful, aware, hard working, often inspired and always interested. I dream of a world with clean water, healthy nutritious food, fresh air, communities of people supporting and caring for each other, working together as part of nature. I’m a doer and a creator and I love working towards manifesting this dream.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I've had a large vegetable garden for many years and have grown a lot of herbs from which I make medicine . tinctures, creams, ointments, teas etc. I'd be happy to pass this knowledge on. I'm also a Shiatsu therapist and an English teacher.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We new currently making lots of gardens and planting a lot of vegetables. Help is needed doing this, caring for the garden, weeding, watering, Parts of the land also need clearing and fire wood needs splitting and storing.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    An Iveco Daily (camper van), kitted out to live in.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My land is 20 km from Europe's most beautiful beaches (Aljezur, Portugal) and surfer's paradise. You would have plenty of time for surfing but need to have your own transport.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    The land is mainly terraced and accessed down a steep hill so it is only suitable for robust small and medium sized camper vans. You can then either park in the shade near the entrance. 4x4s can also find lovely park-ups elsewhere on the land.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I have a very friendly and sociable female dog. If you have a pet that's ok with that, they are welcome, too.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours for 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 848196651794