Help around the house and enjoy a secluded mountain home in Southern Colorado, US

Country

USA

new host  

Bisher 19 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our home is in beautiful Southern Colorado atop of the Wet Mountains, overlooking the Sangre de Cristo mountain range, which provides spectacular breathtaking 360 degree mountain views. Our home is also part of the Dark Sky community, meaning our night skies are desired by both astronomers and astrophotograhers alike.

    We are surrounded by wildlife, including deer, fox, bear, bobcats, mountain lions, turkeys and numerous species of birds. It's very peaceful here, and we want to keep it that way, so this would not work for someone who wants to party.

    Nothing other than peaceful walks/hikes is in walking distance. We have seasonal neighbors, but even they are over a mile away. If you do not have your own vehicle, you would have limited independence as far as getting around. I do have a side-by-side ATV for exploring the national forest trails above the house.

    During the summer there are often nearby fairs, farmers markets, music and rodeos to attend. Plus there is an unlimited amount of outdoor activities such as white water rafting, hiking, technical climbing, mountain biking and fishing.

    About us: I took an early retirement from Cyber Security (specialized in Forensics) in order to provide a healthier lifestyle for my wife. We have three large dogs that spend their days outside with me, and the rest of the time curled up next to us on the couch. When I’m not working outside, I enjoy hiking, photography, reading and learning new things in general. My wife is trying her hand at gardening and would enjoy learning from others. We both enjoy taking the occasional day trips just to explore the state.

    Please contact us with any questions you have.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We would do our best to provide travelers with opportunities to do and see much of what Colorado and the surrounding area has to offer. The local area is a hub for artists, farmers, and ranchers. You will be able to see what life is like in a clean, relaxed part of the United States.

    I will also teach you proper fire mitigation that allows our forests to remain healthy, as well as remodeling skills.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    My wife and I are currently seeking someone who would be interested in helping on our homestead. The maximum length of stay that would make sense will depend on how hardworking you are and obviously, how much we all enjoy each other’s company. For the right person, there is the opportunity for long term residency here on the homestead.

    We are seeking someone who can stay for at least two weeks or more. We are seeking someone who is trustworthy, calm, has a high sense of integrity, self-motivated, common sense, dedicated hard worker, dependable, mature, and honest.

    My wife needs assistance with basic household help, light cooking and help with her garden, as she is moderately disabled and has difficulty preforming certain tasks.

    Depending on your abilities, I always need a hand on homesteading projects such as fire mitigation, building outdoor spaces (fire pit and seating, walkways, etc.), and general maintenance. This kind of help will require the use of a chainsaw, moving tree limbs, rocks, and the use of general tools.

    I do have some indoor projects that I plan on doing as time permits. I completely remodeled my last house so the tasks listed below I can provide guidance if you are interested in learning.
    * Demo the downstairs master, restud and hang sheet rock, mud, texture and paint.
    * Rewire the downstairs master and install all new lighting
    * Install new tongue & groove ceiling with LED lighting
    * Replace the existing Saltillo tile tile with ceramic wood grain tile throughout the entire house.
    * Remodel the upstairs master bedroom and bath
    * Running CAT 7 Ethernet to both Master bedrooms as well as the downstairs game room.

    NO children/guests under 18 years old.

    PLEASE NOTE: During the winter months the weather at this elevation permit limited outdoor projects between November and April.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private room with a queen size bed and linens provided.

    You will need to be self-reliant as far as having your own transportation as the nearest town is 40 minutes away, otherwise a trip into town once a week is very do able. Guests traveling in their own vehicle will have a flexible stay & be to get about to see the sights in the region.

    All food inside the home would be provided for you. We don't have any food restrictions but try to eat healthy, balanced meals.

    Due to the construction of the home (16 inch thick adobe brick walls), Wi-Fi is currently only available in the main areas of the home.

    If you smoke tobacco or marijuana, that would be outside only.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is so much to do in Colorado especially if you enjoy outdoor activities! Colorado is one of the best places in the world for skiing and hiking, as well as numerous other activities.

    We are situated on the Wet Mountain range at 8,500 feet above sea level or 2,600 meters roughly. The small, scenic town of Westcliffe is 40 minutes away by car. The town is at the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountain range which provides numerous fourteeners for hiking along with ATV trails, fishing, with breathtaking views and lots of wilderness to explore.

    Our home is situated on 75 acres, surrounded with natural wonders with hiking to be enjoyed on both our property as well as the adjoining National Forest. The property itself is a natural setting, full of wildlife and a variety of plant life.

    If you are looking for more social activity and the bustle of a larger town, this is not the place for you. It is more suited to you if you are drawn to spending time in the wilderness, exploring the mountain, and enjoying a quieter, slower pace of life.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 817317765537