Homesteading and Herbalism in Southern Oregon, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 689 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.11.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there! We are a 5 acre homestead in southern Oregon with a focus on creating a healing space to grow food, medicine and connection to spirit.

    FALL UPDATE- Garden things are winding down on the property but there is still plenty of land/building projects to do. While I will have some domestic/herbalism/ house work and could use assistance for that, I am mostly interested and giving priority to people with skills and experience in the following areas. ( Although a couple with one person being a builder/tractor/chainsaw/maintenance person( slash slash ;) ), other person interested in helping with more domestic help could be great) Things are getting pretty chilly, I do have warm space to offer but it is limited to 2 or possibly 3 people in a shared studio space with a private bath and kitchenette.

    BUILDING- the projects for the winter include-
    Airstream to tiny house renovation
    Bath house- wood fired sauna and cedar bath tub.
    And the never ending miscellaneous projects/handyman upkeep on the farmhouse

    LAND PROJECTS-
    Gathering firewood (chainsaw)
    Installing electric fencing and building a round pen for bringing a horse onto the property-
    Planting cedar, fruit and deciduous shade trees
    Water Works-(tractor)
    Putting in a french drain in front of the cabin before the winter rains come
    Digging a trench for the the underground spring that feeds the pond and becomes wetlands in the winter.

    AND MUCH MORE :).


    My name is Stella and I bought this land 4 years ago. I am excited to grow as much food and medicine as possible for myself, my land stewards and neighbors/family.

    I feel passionate about living simply and letting the beauty and wisdom of nature mimic as much of my life as possible. I am an herbalist and documentary photographer. I have travelled all over the world, fought wild land forest fires and helped birth babies.
    While I am no stranger to hard work, I also value self care and emotional/physical awareness and well being. I encourage people around me to both bust ass and work hard and focused when we are working and take care of themselves in time off.

    I am the main resident and share the farmhouse with Kava, the cat. Although, I am building spaces for more people to live here through the winter. There is also a temple/sanctuary space, a tiny cabin and then the volunteer spaces, including the outdoor kitchen, outdoor shower and composting toilet.

    The land is a beautiful mix of old growth Oak and Madrone trees and open meadows. There is a seasonal creek and large pond that brings in lots of wildlife and birds. The 1/4 acre vegetable, flower and medicinal herb garden is in the center of the land with a magical greenhouse. I am passionate about creating beautiful and playful spaces.

    There is a yurt/temple available for meditation, yoga, or other healing arts you would like to practice.


    It has been incredible and inspiring to see how this vision is coming to life and who is being called in to be apart of it.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We all have so much to learn from each other. I am excited to share the wisdom I have gained from other cultures in my travels to over 19 countries and so excited to learn more. I will never tire of learning new things, especially about other ways of living. You will surely learn about plants and herbalism, how to grow, wild craft, and make medicine. In my time "off" I am usually out exploring the hills around here and happy to bring people along and introduce to all the allies of the forest.
    If anyone is interested in photography, I'm an open book and love to play both in and out of the studio. You will surely leave here with some great pictures of yourself ;).
    This land is a healing place and many people leave feeling touched and transformed by being here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    BUILDING PROJECTS-
    AIRSTREAM-Converting an airstream to an off grid tiny house- It is gutted and has a woodstove and clawfoot bath tub. We have started installing the floor. projects with this include- finishing the floor, putting in wainscotting, building out cabinetry and bed nook, hooking up solar and on demand hot water heater.
    ONGOING-Arbors, benches, and altars around the property. I am also slowly remodeling and repairing the main house, projects range from bigger things like a kitchen remodel to simple light fixture replacements, shelving and painting.

    GARDEN- come spring--- including weeding, building more beds, compost tea, planting, seeding, more weeding, transplanting, more weeding, harvesting, drying herbs, canning & preserving, turning compost piles.

    ANIMALS- Right now I just have ducks and chickens, but would like to eventually incorporate goats and horses.

    LAND MAINTENANCE- repairing fencing, planting a living fence with medicinal and ornamental shrubs and bamboo, fruit and nut tree planting, mowing & weed whacking, brush clearing, splitting wood, building forest & land alters.

    ART STUDIO- helping with photography projects, matting and framing, cleaning old windows, organizing the studio.

    WEBSITE/SOCIAL MEDIA- Currently in need of a graphic designer for labels on medicinal products. Photography website re-design. If someone was a great writer I would love help with weekly blog posts.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, some French and Spanish.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I offer a couple different options for housing.
    There is a simple, rustic and beautiful "indoor/outdoor house". Its a three walled pole barn with wood floor and electricity. Its super sweet, with a bed, a desk and shelving.
    There is the Gypsy Wagon. A hand built charming wooden and pop up top camper. Its got a full size bed, electricity and its own little sink. Very charming.
    And then various beautiful spots on the land for camping.
    There is an outdoor kitchen, an outdoor shower and composting toilet.
    I provide basic staples such as rice, beans, oils, vinegar, tamari etc etc. And then an abundance of veggies from the garden. Things are just starting to ripen and be abundant, tomatoes, cucumbers, summer squash, cabbage, brocolli, onion, beets, turnips, kale, collards, salad greens, arugula, cilantro, basil, carrots, many medicinal herbs, and lots of flowers emerging.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The land here has wifi and pretty good cell reception with certain companies like verizon, tmobile, and us cellular.

    Williams is a very small and remote town but with a vibrant community. There are a lot of other local organic csa farms, a seed farm, and ayurvedic herbalism school, and the world renowned Herb Pharm within a 5 mile radius. The abundance of all these amazing farms brings in a diverse and beautiful people! There are yoga, dance and various art classes here. A small natural grocery and garden store, a post office, a couple restaurants and the monthly pancake breakfast!
    This valley is a hub for farming, music, culture festivals, wine tasting and world renowned river sports.
    We are about an hour from Ashland an alternatively rich and vibrant university town who's claim to fame is the Shakespear Festival. In the summer months, Jacksonville, a ridiculously quaint little town about 40 minutes from here, hosts the Britt Festival, which brings in amazing musicians like Buena Vista Social Club, Michael Franti and Elephant Revival. Grants Pass is the nearest city and is about 20 minutes away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hours a day, 6 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 136834674188