Environmental help near the sea in Puducherry, India

Country

Indien

Bisher 21 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.07.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello friends,

    I am Satya. I live close to the international city Auroville. I am involved in cleaning the beaches, canyons, lakes, ponds and forests from plastic and other waste materials that are accumulating all around.

    In my area there's no proper waste management system. As a result people dump their waste wherever they can. This is affecting the wild life that lives in the region. For example we had a number of monitor lizards that lived inside a canyon in my neighborhood but I don't see them anymore. This is because people have started dumping household waste inside the canyon. The beautiful canyon near my house has now turned into a stinking landfill. All the animals that lived there are either dead or they have moved away. My effort has been to restore this canyon back to its original beauty.

    I am also involved in educating people about how our whole planet is fast turning into a junkyard. Even our seas are full of all sorts of man-made garbage. Unless more people get involved in saving our planet the hope of its survival is meagre.

    My team consists of my wife, my mother and myself. The three of us also run a homestay

    I would like to invite people to come and stay here and help me in this endeavour.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Unterrichten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    A lot of languages are spoken in my house. We always have some cultural, artistic, linguistic or musical exchange happening all the time in my house. Most people who visit us become good friends. We also often have collective cooking (vegetarian) and eating sessions. We drink a lot of hebal teas. Most things happen spontaneously here but all happens with a lot of goodwill and love for all creatures and with utmost respect for mother nature.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Basically I would like you to be fully involved in our awareness programs. This will involve going out on the streets in the villages around Auroville and talking to the local people. Most locals understand English but we can also involve translators.

    You will need good communication skills. You need to basically make people understand that we cannot keep dumping waste all around us. As we live close to the sea here a lot of our waste is just flowing into the sea. We have to stop this.

    Along with the local people our task is also to create new waste-mangement systems that will work. We need to especially make people aware about how they can reduce waste and teach them about recycling and upcycling.

    We have started certain groups in our region to spread awareness about the growing waste all around us. In one of our group you could also become a volunteer plogger if you are into yoga & fitness.

    I think we are looking for people who are really passionate about saving the earth, especially from trash created by humans. We need those who support minimalism and live by the principles of "zero waste".

    Occasionally we may also need help in household duties.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Hindi: Fließend
    Italian: Fließend
    Sanskrit: Fließend
    Tamil: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is very simple but it's clean and comfortable for all. An avarage room can accomodate two people comfortably. All around our house there's greenary. Lots of birds and harmless wild animals may also be spotted. We have good drinking water and the air around is totally clean & fresh.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are very close to an international city called Auroville. You can look it up. This city was founded on the principles of human unity in 1968. It is not a big city but it is very beautiful and well maintained. People from 50 different countries live here. There is much to explore here if you like nature, organic farming, yoga, arts, music and sustainable livelihood. Our home is walkable distance from the beach, only about 2 kms. A historic city Pondicherry is also very close to my house. As we are away from main roads most people here buy or hire a motorcycle or a pushbike to explore the region.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 761195713645