Come and help around family home in the valley in Dubrovnik, Croatia



Bisher 208 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 24 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Do you have a minimum of 3 weeks to help us ????
    We are a down to earth, friendly and at times very loud family of 4 - Mikki (an Aussie) my husband Niksa (Croatian) and our 2 teenage sons Jon (19) Jak (17 3/4) living in the Župa valley just 15 minutes drive south from Dubrovnik.
    We speak English and Croatian.
    We would like you to be aware that we eat meat daily, we are not the healthiest eaters and prefer to not be lectured on this ;)
    Although 90% of Croatia is of the Catholic faith, we loosely follow some of the traditions. Mikki is not religious.

    Our family MOTTO- Treat people the way you would like to be treated!
    Our home does not discriminate, we will not tolerate abusive or violent behavior under any circumstances.
    Alcohol on a social level, we prefer non smokers but if you must be aware that smoking is strictly OUTSIDE, NOT DURING WORK TIME and NOT around Non Smokers.

    We are surrounded by mountains with the Ivanica border to Bosnia Herzegovina just 8 minutes drive away, 8 minutes drive to Srebreno beach and 40 minutes drive to Montenegro.
    I love to find new places around the area and also taking trips further afield so you could be included in these trips.

    From April to November
    We would prefer couples during this period as the jobs that need to be done and the accomodation work better for couples or close friends.
    The tasks during this time include - household cleaning including windows, ovens, kitchens, all tiled surfaces, washing and ironing linens, cooking or at the very least assisting with meal preparations, gardening - weeding, planting, picking and general clean up of areas. From May the above ground pool needs daily cleaning and maintaining. The chicken house needs to be cleaned weekly, preparation of our food seasonings, body products and beeswax food wraps. Update social media and facebook sites.

    From November to April we have preparation projects for the family home and the large garden area.
    This includes the beginnings of our small lemon orchard, seasonal vegetable garden, perhaps this coming winter we will build a winter hot house or glass house for vegetables and flowers. Clean out the chicken house weekly.
    During this time we also have olives to harvest, some fruits, which will also mean preserving and bottling preparing our own food seasonings, body products and our handmade beeswax food wraps.
    Household cleaning including windows, ovens, kitchens, all tiled surfaces, cooking or at the very least assisting with meal preparations, gardening - watering, weeding, planting, picking and general clean up of areas. Update social media and facebook sites.
    If you love animals you are welcome to walk the dog, feed the chickens but this is done for pleasure not as part of your working tasks.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    All throughout the year there are many cultural activities in the area.
    We also make our own Rakija during the grape season, we preserve jams and vegetables.
    We pick our olives and send them to the local process man, we also preserve some.
    Some of our family members and friends are Artisans and you will have the chance to watch them and even assist them when possible.

  • Arbeit


    Depending on the time of year the help description and accomodation varies:
    April to November (couples preferred)
    This would be assisting with preparation for:
    A minimum one bbq or main meal for the family, washing & ironing linens, washing towels and general laundry, cleaning, , cleaning the above ground pool and garden areas including the bbq area. Taking the garbage down to the community bins, cleaning the vans and also the mountain bikes.
    We have a vegetable/herb gardens and small lemon orchard which needs to be weeded and tended to, there are also decorative gardens at the front and rear of the house which need to be tended to. We have 14 hens and 2 roosters to attend to daily and each week their housing needs to be cleaned out.
    November to April
    able to take singles and couples
    More labour projects, farming, fruit picking, preserving, furniture restoration and computer work. Making of beeswax food wraps, assisting with the drying, cutting and packaging of our handmade food seasonings.

    The level of cleaning required is detailed.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and Croatian

  • Unterkunft


    Summer Season - private room in the family home for 2 people, full internet access, shared bathroom and toilet, shared kitchen and dining area.
    Out of Season - apartment with central heating, self contained full kitchen, bathroom, cable tv and full internet.
    Depending on the time of year:
    Meals provided on working days:
    Breakfast (cornflakes, toast, spread, eggs, coffee or tea (to be eaten BEFORE work).
    Lunch and dinner preparation will be rotated between Mikki and workawayers
    Lunch (to be eaten after work or during break if splitting hours) examples sandwiches, vegetable pasta, burek, vegetable quiche, meat pie
    Dinner spaghetti Bolognese, chicken stirfry, vegetable curry, tuna casserole,lasagne
    (water, juice during lunch and limited wine will be provided during dinner.)

    Days off –
    breakfast only will be provided.

    If you are vegetarian, we are happy to provide simple vegetarian meals with seasonal vegetables and fruits and have you show us some tasty new recipies.

    If you are vegan, or have a special diet such as a gluten free or halal diet, please be aware that foods such as quinoa, tofu, special cereals, health foods, gluten free, halal foods etc are all extremely expensive here and, as these are foods we as a family do not eat, these foods will not be supplied. We are not familiar with vegan or raw foods so you would need to be cooking for yourselves.

    Snack foods such as chips, nuts, chocolate, ice cream, coke, sports drinks, alcohol are at your own expense.

    Personal hygiene products other than shower gel are at your expense.

    There is Lidle and KONZUM super markets nearby and we are happy to take you there or it is a 20 minute walk.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are local busses to Dubrovnik and down to Cavtat, UBER is also available.
    Out of season you are welcome to use the mountain bikes.
    There will be plenty of free time, we understand and appreciate your wanting to see as much as possible.
    We will go out of our way to help you and provide you with great food so we would truly appreciate you putting in a solid work ethic.
    If you are not prepared to work hard and are looking for a free place to party we are not what you are looking for.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours/5 days When the weather is unpredictable work hours may need to be split during the day. Should a job need to be completed which runs over the 5 hours that extra time will be returned.

your hosts - Jak,Mikki,Niksa and Jon
view from the above ground pool, not fancy but a cool view allround :)
Our back yard, vegetable garden and small lemon orchard. We are surrounded by mountains nestled into the valley.
Inside Sponza Palace Old Town Dubrovnik, 15 mins away
Christmas lunch 2017 with workawayers from Canada and Argentina and friends from Bermuda and Ireland :)
a small village in the valley of Zupa just 15 mins drive from Old Town Dubrovnik
Christmas morning, pancake stack and Jager !!!!! NO WORK TODAY :P
Luta river, 30 mins drive away
watching the sunset from mount srd 20 mins drive away
Overlooking Lokrum Island from Mt Srd
Our local beach

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 692259443877