Discover NYC and have a cultural exchange with our family, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 404 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there! My partner and I live in NYC, and we sometimes go to NJ in the Summer. We have a sweet little girl (she was born Dec 2019, so she's quite little). I work full time but my partner stays home to take care of the kiddo. Which can be a bit lonely and daunting, staying alone at home with a kid 24-7. So we thought workaway would be a great way to make our home feel more interesting and international: having travelers from all over the world while they lend a hand with some little things around our house.

    We used to be hosts on couchsurfing.com about 10 years ago, which was a great experience for us. But now having a child means we don't want the constant turnover of couchsurfing. So we'd rather have someone for 6 or more weeks. It feels safer and more stable, in consideration of our kiddo.

    We're hoping to use workaway as a cultural exchange, especially to teach our little girl about different cultures and customs.

    We can take upto 2 workawayers at a time. Happy to accept a solo traveler or 2 people together.

    Look forward to hearing from you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We're hoping to use workaway as a cultural exchange, especially to teach our little girl about different cultures and customs. We want to inspire her to view the world and its people with an open mind... and, more importantly, an open heart. We think there is no better way to do this than to have people from all over the world stay with us, interact with her and share a smile.

    We also want to learn about your views, language, cuisine... cook together... and in exchange teach you about our customs. Happy to exchange recipes and cooking tips.

    If your English is so-so, that's ok. We're happy to help you improve your English :). Especially if your native language is Spanish: we're both almost fluent in Spanish.

    We also love to hike, and we'd be happy if you want to join us on hikes :)

    Guests can learn about caring for young children and about their development and how they learn, also about art craft and education activities.

    While living as part of our family they can also learn about planning, organizing and taking responsibility.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Some cooking and light cleaning. Interacting with us and teaching us about your culture. Language exchange would be great too. We're almost fluent in Spanish but we can always use more practice. Lastly, some help engaging with our daughter in a patient and kind way would also be appreciated sometimes. She's very sociable and loves to meet new people :)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Happy to teach you some English if you're new at it and you want to improve

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own little room, with either a foldout bed or aerobed (room has a curtain in the doorway and big windows with great natural sunlight... a rare treat in NYC, where windows sometimes face a brick wall without light). But if there are 2 guests you will have to share the room. You can also use our kitchen and bathroom.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It's NYC, so much to see here :)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    On your days off you can also travel to one of the nearby cities (easier if you stay there overnight):
    Boston -4 hours by bus
    Providence, RI -3 hours by bus
    Washington DC - 4 hours by bus

    ... You probably already heard of Boston and Washington, so no need to describe those.

    But maybe you haven't heard of Providence. Well then... Providence is one of the oldest cities in the US (founded in 1636). It's full of beautiful, historic New England architecture. It's the capital and most populous city of Rhode Island, and it's also just 3 hours from NYC. It's home to 7 Universities, including Brown University (an Ivy League) and RISD (one of the top art and design universities). It has an energetic vibe with young students and a walkable downtown area full of restaurants and bars. Johnson and Wales Culinary School (one of the top US culinary schools) is located here, making Providence one of the undiscovered food meccas: there are lots of restaurants of both world ethnic cuisine and local farm-to-table dishes.

    So much to discover both within NYC, and by traveling to other nearby cities. What are you waiting for, come stay with us!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Great wifi connection in our house if you're a digital nomad

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours per week per person

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 684965885171