Painting, Homesteading and gardening in San Luis Obispo, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 441 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.09.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    447

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a fun loving family of four with lots of creative enthusiasm. We love nature, hiking and working with our hands. Almost three years ago we moved to a beautiful 10 acre property just outside of the town of San Luis Obispo, CA. and need help building our vision and maintaining the property.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a semi-international family who have travelled quite a bit and enjoy meeting new people and learning about new cultures. . We love reciprocating by sharing a bit of California life and sharing our traditions and love of food with our volunteers. We have three children, our eldest has moved to Scotland, our son is 23 and is always on the verge of leaving the nest, but somehow loves it too much on the farm to leave :). Our youngest, Petra is 19 and spends most of her time with her horses and is thrilled to finally have horses in her backyard! We have one awesome deaf pit bull and a frisky, young cattle dog and new boston bulldog puppy. We are NOT religious and although we do not discriminate against anyone who is, we might offend. It happens, Just being transparent there :-) We live in a beautiful coastal town with a lively downtown and many farmers markets. We also live near many wineries, hiking trails and are just a short 4 miles (7 km) to the beach!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The barn is pretty much done, yay!!!! Still some detail work like staining, sanding and painting left to do. Any painters out there?? There will also be exterior landscaping projects to come. The garden would love someone who is passionate about getting their hands in the dirt and farming organically. Worm bins, composting, hugelkulture etc. Bring in it on!!! And in return...we feed you well, accommodations are stellar and we give you time to explore this gorgeous part of California! Come help us homestead!! :)

    In general, we aways need help with watering trees, feeding animals, mucking pastures, digging holes, general yard/garage/barn construction clean up, brush clearing, mulching, creek restoration, fence building, irrigation, trenching, digging holes, planting trees, trail maintenance and helping in the vegetable garden. And did we say hole digging?? We also would like to build more compost bins, sheds, horse hay shelter and anything else a homesteader might need. So in short, the farm requires a fair amount of manual labor and we love it if you help with a smile :) Any help with cooking or cleaning and washing windows would also be greatly appreciated, as my days can get busy and cleaning house never makes it to the top of my list. Its not always a super organized day but there is always something to do. We like to adjust projects depending on the skills and passions you can to bring to the table. If you have art talents, we have a container to paint as well :-)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a sweet little "guest shed" with comfy bed. It shares the outdoor shower and toilet with our vintage trailer guests (if we have them). There is a composting toilet and an outdoor shower nearby and an outdoor kitchen for your use. We will provide ingredients for your meals that you can prepare on your own and we often do dinners together if it suits everyone. It is expected the you help clean up after meals!! Please remember this during your stay.
    We eat mostly vegetable based organic food, we love eating good food, cooking together and sharing laughs and stories at the dinner table. We do eat meat as well but are happy to accommodate vegetarians :-)
    also please note: This is a farm, peaceful and quiet with limited cell and internet. It is quite a distance to get to town and anywhere basically.
    NOTE: A car is needed to get to most places but we offer up bikes for beaches and hiking trails. If you feel up to it, downtown is a 40 minute bike ride.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Having a car is helpful! Downtown San Luis Obispo is about 10 miles away, Avila beach is 4 miles away. there are many beautiful hiking trails, wineries to tour, biking routes, waves to surf and many beautiful beaches to enjoy. We live in a very "outdoorsy" community and value its small town charms and outdoor living. We will have bikes available to ride and happy to give lifts into town on occasion. We are clean and tidy and respectful of others and our environment, we hope to have those attributes in our guests. We work hard and also value down time.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Your hosts Lorna and Paul

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.9)

























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 761321173366