Join me in my farmhouse becoming self-sufficient in Piedmont, Italy

Country

Italien

Bisher 14 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Beautiful brick farmhouse on the top of a hill surrounded by bushland. Many wild herbs and fruit trees (hazelnuts, cherries, walnuts, elder, mulberries...).
    It's the family house where I grew up and I've now decided to move back here permanently with the plan of slowly turning it into a self-sufficient food forest. My approach is very experimental; I like permaculture ideas, Fukuoka ideas, concepts like syntrophy and letting nature do her job by simply filling her with seeds and plants.
    The long term project is also to develop a seed bank and an educational centre (traditional arts and foods, gardening, small scale farming...).
    There is a good library of books to read. The diet is predominantly plant-based but it's ok to cook and eat meat in the house. I am a cook and artisanal pasta maker and I'm always happy to prepare nourishing meals, share recipes and teach what I know. Internet is limited to checking emails and doing small online research, you'll have to get a local sim card if you need more. There is a nearby village with a train station where you can be picked up if you don't have a car. All cultures, genders and ages are welcome as long as you respect the house, the people and the land. Bonus skills that I really value at the moment are: knowledge in agriculture, forest management, permaculture, plant recognition, herbalism, tree pruning, chainsawing, carpentry, wood carving. You will be asked to do 4/5h of work per day for 5 days a week. The rest of the time you are welcome to take part in other activities or do your own things. I'm exploring the area myself and visiting small producers to create a network, you're welcome to join these excursions. Sunday is rest day. If you want to have a few days off, you can help more hours on other days. You can see more pictures on our Instagram.
    FROM NOVEMBER TILL MARCH I WILL BE AWAY FROM THE PROPERTY SO NOT ABLE TO HOST

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you're studying a foreign language (Italian, English or Spanish) I can help both with grammar and conversation. I love my culture, especially the food and artcraft aspects of it, and I'm always willing to share what I know. Also I have a good knowledge of plants, herbs, gardening, farming, foraging...
    At the same time I love to meet with people from all over the world, learn a bit of their language, get inspired by their cuisine, listen to their music and share life stories.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    At the moment there is a lot of cleaning pathways in the bush, freeing plants from suffocating ivy, collecting firewood, cleaning and tidying bushland close to the house, planting trees and herbs from seeds. I also need help with housework, keeping the house clean and tidy.
    On the projects list, there is: a plant nursery, a woodshed, a solar dehydrator, a solar shower, a composting toilet. So if you have carpentry skills that's a bonus!
    Also, a lot of time is spent collecting wild food and medicine and processing it (drying, preserving, fermenting...). I love making ferments (water and milk kefir, cheese, mead, vinegar), handcrafted pasta, soap... I also love traditional crafts of all sorts.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am a language teacher and I love both to teach and to learn new languages

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have a comfortable bed either in a room by yourself of in a shared room if there are other visitors. If you are a couple you might share a double bed in a private room. I love to cook and share meals as much as i love to try your special dishes. The meals I cook are predominantly vegetarian.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The area is between two medium-size cities: Asti and Alessandria. It is also only 1 hour by train from the regional capital Torino. So if you crave city life during your stay you can jump on a train and go exploring.
    The property is directly connected to the valley where you can go for pleasant walks to the natural park of Rocchetta or along the Tanaro river.
    For a relaxing time you can simply lay on the hammock and read one of the many interesting books we have or we can watch a documentary together, weave a basket or engage in some creative activity. If you play an instrument bring it along, live music is most welcome.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 636621352981