Come and help us around the house and with gardening in Ravenshoe, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 75 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My partner and I work in the arts with a focus on indigenous and environmental art. We live on an acreage 4 minutes drive from Ravenshoe on the Atherton Tablelands. Would love helpers who have experience in landscaping, gardening and building maintanence and who can work independantly. We have sprawling gardens and many buildings on our property. Work here is flexible and we can tailor the work to suit your skills. Creative and practical people are most welcome. We have a self contained cabin for helpers which would suit a couple or two friends. There is a lot of bird life, many fabulous bush walks and waterfalls nearby. The weather is much cooler here than Cairns as Ravenshoe is the highest town in Queensland. My partner and I are easy going people who like to laugh and to meet interesting people and love to exchange stories.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have a good knowledge of the area and can assist in helpers getting the most out of their visit. We want it to be enjoyable and fun not just work. We have a good knowledge of indigenous culture and communities in North Queensland, our house is like a museum of cultural objects and contemporary art. We like to share experiences and can teach people about gardening and the environmental art movement we are involved in. Sometimes we create large sculptural works we can involve helpers in the making and construction of those works.
    Most afternoons we walk with the dog and friends on many of the tracks around the area. Helpers can join us on these walks to see wildlife and the very diverse landscapes in the area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Gardening - weeding, mulching, paving, rock walls, cementing, making garden sculptures, create veggie garden (want to build a wicking bed and keyhole garden). Would love people who have experience in rock and paving.
    Building maintenance - painting, fixing old sheds, cleaning, building repairs
    Art Projects - help when required, can involve building armatures or stitching ghost net, weaving. Artists are useful to us. We expect four hours a day work for five days a week with some help preparing meals, washing up, etc as in a standard share house situation. However we are generous people so the more you contribute to helping with projects, the more you will get back from us. The work and hours per day are flexible so you can work more hours on one day to accu time.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Self contained one bedroom cabin with double bed which suits couples. The cabin has a fold out bed in the lounge room if two beds are required. There is a washing machine, fridge, basic cook facilities. The cabin has a lovely big veranda looking onto a dam and bush land and is a short walk to the main house. We are flexible to share food at the house or for you to make your own at the cabin. We will supply food but often require you to help yourself to breakfast and lunch as we focus on the main meal at night. We eat a wide range of good food including meat and like to cook. We also like to experience other people's cooking and share food preparation and washing up.

    We also have a couple of spare rooms in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are lots of bush walks right at the back door, waterfalls, crater lakes, hot springs, country markets, rainforest and diverse ecosystems. There is a visitors centre in town who can assist with more information about the area and about tours of the Tablelands. Having your own car here is a real bonus as there is a lot of natural sites to see and a couple of great museums, lots of quaint little towns and fabulous markets, although I often take helpers to see sights depending on how busy I am. I do have a couple of pushbikes for riding into town which is about a 20 minute bike ride or four minutes by car. The Tablelands is much cooler than Cairns. Our property is situated on the highest road in Queensland and there are buses from Cairns to Atherton and Ravenshoe.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 629292578775