House-dad desperately seeking help around the house and garden in Falköping, Sweden

Country

Schweden

Bisher 7 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am retired, my wife works and we live in central Sweden. We have a 15 yr old son living at home, and an older daughter in Gothenburg University. We emigrated from UK, so we are a half Swedish family. We live in a tiny village amongst dairy farms. We live a simple but rather cluttered life in a former vicarage, and have a very large garden to maintain. I (John) am scheduled for a hip operation and cannot do physical work right now (pre op.) and will be able to do even less afterwards when on crutches.

    I do not need help personally.

    We have lots of pets, a large wild garden with patches of civilised flower beds. Lots of grass to mow.

    We will show you around, you might assist on shopping trips , Maybe drive our car or motor scooter(moped). There is no bus or shop in the village, the nearest facility is 4 km distant, so workawayers need to be able to occupy their spare time and evenings. Fiber WifI broadband is available all the time.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will certainly "escape from it all" in our rural family home. We offer the experience of living in a small village of mostly farmers and forest owners. Walk and cycle in solitude. Enjoy Sweden's "right to roam" without prosecution for trespassing. Go wild swimming in local lakes and rivers.

    Depending on my recovery status before or after my hip operation I will wherever possible show you ancient Rune Stones, medieval Burial mounds and vast stone tombs where the covering soil has gone. There are also historic sites of 1000 yr old churches and church ruins. I will arrange visits to local towns and places of interest, either with our family or on your own.

    All in all enjoy a slower pace of life, and its joys and occasional frustrations.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I, John, the dad will undergo hip replacement surgery this Spring or Summer and I require an extra pair of hands to care for our land before and after my operation. Tasks could include ride-on lawn mowing, weeding and planting flower and vegetable beds, simple carpentry projects repairing animal pens, and garden structures. In early spring pruning bushes. Depending on when you come you could be involved in relaying a gravel driveway. Outside house painting.

    In addition I might require you to assist in shopping and carrying, and as I am the "house dad", some household tasks.

    A driving licence for a moped/motor scooter or car would be useful but not essential. We have bicycles for your leisure use.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    English spoken (John) and Swedish (Ingegerd, Hannes)

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will occupy a downstairs Guest bedroom in the house, with separate toilet and shower, partly shared with homeowners. Join the family for all meals. No personal cooking facilities. The house also includes several cats and a dog.

    Sewerage is partly sustainably treated and all water is direct from our own well, and drinkable un treated. We endeavour to live simply and as sustainably as we can, making some compromises.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The house is in a village 4 km from the nearest bus route and 8 km from the nearest shop. There are no other local resources. Volunteers need to be able to be content for long periods such as evenings when they will be left alone. Unfortunately we have no communal TV however fiber broadband and WiFi are strong signals and reliable. Mobile phone networks are occasionally unavailable.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Yes space for a mobile home or campervan or use of a simple stuga - but very basic cooking facilty and a caravan-toilet which campers would be expected to maintain and service every 2 or 3 days.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 964745379552