We love sustainable, natural & organic ways of farming & living in Wisconsin, USA



Bisher 34 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Hi ! We are a married couple, staying with our relatives, who are another married couple & their 2 kids. We have just moved back to Wisconsin, & are staying here for a while - we are not yet certain exactly where we'd like to settle. This is the home that Jason grew up in, & his sister ( our host ) is also interested in hosting a workawayer & loves exploring different cultures & foods. So, we have her permission /collabaration on hosting workawayers here :) . One of our past workawayers has stayed here with us & had a good time. We are attempting to start a larger garden area, the no-dig way. Also, flowers, fruit trees, guinea fowl etc. . Our 5 chickens are just getting aquainted with their new home ! Our interests: We love sustainable, natural & organic ways of farming & living . We are learning a lot lately, I grew up dairy farming, & Jason in the country & working some on farms, but we are still learning ! Jason is a well-rounded mechanic ( deisel engines mainly ), with interests in things from nature, good food, tractors, getting some time with his fire-arms. So, yes, we do have guns here ( for hunting, mainly ) & they are typically put away, but you do need to be ok with them being here :). So far no-one's had a problem with it, but we realized we should mention it more ahead of time ! I am into plants, homesteading, permaculture & watching tiny house video tours ( love the creative, esp. with efficient storage, aspects). We just got chickens again this summer, 4 hens & 1 rooster. We have no kids of our own, though I love them. We believe the Bible but try to be sensitive & friendly, definitely respectful, with people of different views. We love a variety of music & we often play music while we work ( but don't have to). I usually cook from scratch. I am intolerant of gluten & casein myself so, we can even accommodate someone with those needs quite easily. We eat meat - currently have a lot of venison in our freezer- but could accommodate those who don't. We typically eat very low sugar, whole foods.
    There is one house cat here. We are not very close to any public transportation, but can get you from Menomonie or EauClaire, WI . There's bus services ( air port shuttle, it's mainly called) from Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN to them, there's also connections from Chicago up to them. We look forward to meeting you !

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Both of us, & Jason's sister ( the homeowner) were born & raised in Dunn co. WI, so we can share unique things about the heritage of this area & of the upper midwest. Learn from our backgrounds in Dairy Farming ( me) & a wide range of mechanical knowledge, creativity & "out-side the box" thinking ( Jason), his sister, Vanessa, is a clever creative writer & an artist, in her spare time, & loves the outdoors, music & fun.
    We have a fair amount of experience in organic vegetable gardening, woodland management, chickens & food preserving. We can share in the passion of & learning to, live in sustainable ways. Also, we don't smoke or "do drugs". Light, occasional drinking of alcohol by a some of us.
    The area has a growing number of natural & organic farms & places of that sort of interest. We are a couple hours away from New Forest Farms, of rural Viola, WI, a highly successful ( awesome!) Permaculture farm.. I would love to go there, myself!
    There are State parks, other parks & educational centers, hiking & walking trails, waterfalls, & more !
    We look forward to meeting you & seeing our area of the world through your eyes, & hearing about where else you've been !

  • Arbeit


    Help with: normal house work; carrying things upstairs ( to 2nd floor) to move some things into storage; cleaning & organizing ( nothing too unusual or strenuous) ; help mulch the garden with woodchips ; create & manage compost piles; help with the chickens ; help with installing garden fencing; collecting plant materials for compost; help with eco projects such as rain water catchment & containing, a bee waterer/fountain, pollinator gardens. Help with watching the children, possibly ( like, when we are using machinery in the yard).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    Spare bedroom w window, yet to be set up. We have an extra, queen size bed & a queen size air mattress, & few other furniture items possibly. It has a closet ( plenty of clothes hangers). 1 bathroom, shared. There is an outhouse in back yard, clean & useable. We'll do our best to make you comfortable ! Willing to try compost toilet. The rest of house, shared. Camping in yard, in a tent, probably ok.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    See above for ideas of things to see & do, there are often a lot of free things that happen all over the area, including musical, like an open mic night at a cafe. Many small ( local ingredients) wineries & breweries. If you want rent a vehicle, you can park in our driveway here, possibly garage.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    2 to 5 hours a day, depending on what's going on, can typically be pretty flexible.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 577193431926