aktualisiert   Last minute

Join us creating a communal farm, home and sanctuary in Bastrop County, Texas, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 75 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 04.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We're a small community of people, on a beautiful piece of land in rural Texas, full of lush green hills, towering pines, oak savannahs, and wild animals, about 1 hour's drive from Austin (2h from San Antonio, 3h from the beach). 8 people live here now, from ages 3 to 73, and we're always trying to get more people involved.

    We've traveled the world volunteering with Workaway, hitchhiking and sleeping on floors with Couchsurfing, playing music in bands, farming, building, protesting, yogaing, truck-driving, teaching... all kinds of things. Now, we're trying to restore this piece of land to a more balanced state and to build a home, a farm, an apiary, a studio... We want this to be a communal place that fosters creativity, closeness to nature, silence, loudness, peace, chaos, etc.!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There are 3 major cities within driving distance (Austin, Houston, San Antonio) and tons of natural beauty (Pedernales, Port Aransas, the Colorado River, etc.). We go to the city once or twice a week... if you want to go more often, you'll need a vehicle, since there's no public transit. Feel free to ask any questions, we can talk about your expectations/hopes/dreams~ But of course, the big draw here is the natural beauty, serenity, and community building.

    As far as the people here, we've lived our lives based on sharing and cultural exchange and (hopefully!) have something to offer in return :) Maybe you'd like to practice Armenian or Spanish or Arabic, learn how to tour in a band or build furniture or drive a semi, play the drums or the flute or make beats, talk about Mishima or Goethe or Wong Kar Wai, hear about immigrating from Lebanon in the 1970s, walk through some beautiful rolling hills and come up with ways to make "permaculture" something more than a buzz word, build a compost toilet or a guitar amp... we try to approach all these things in a humble, open way.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We ask helpers to help from 8 AM to 1 PM, 5 days per week. We can discuss different help times with you, but we have to start early on hot days. The main requirement is clear communication and sticking to plans.

    Work includes construction (from concrete to wood framing to tiling floors), gardening, running our apiary (beehives), forestry, etc. It's often hard work in hot, humid weather. But the place is beautiful, and you will see the work of your hands manifest in front of your eyes, a great feeling. Maybe you'll build something here too someday!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Arabisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Armenian: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    -Bed in a private guest house, sometimes shared with ohter workawayers (or we can set up a big tent for you if you prefer).
    -3 meals a day. Some people here eat meat, some don't. Let us know if you have a special diet.
    -Bathroom with shower + compost toilets

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We need volunteers to be COVID-vaccinated, since we have a 73-year-old with a history of lung issues living here. Thank you for understanding!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Our wifi is consistent, but not very fast... we have had people here who teach via livestream or conference, and it's usually adequate. Also, the only reliable phone service here is AT&T.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Campers/RVs are welcome. We don't have a hookup (yet), but you're free to use the electricity/water in the buildings. And you can run an extension cord.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Pets must be friendly with babies, children, dogs & cats. We do have wild animals around, including snakes. Our cat is often out all night and she is ok, but please be aware/careful.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 434911552194

Feedback (6)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Experience small farm living in a bucolic country setting, near Monmouth, Oregon, USA
Welcoming a little help with some homestead projects in Texas, USA