Help with various DOY and garden projects around our home in Port Angeles, Washington, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 194 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    64.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there - We are a couple in our late 30s/early 40s (no kids) living in Port Angeles about 2 miles from downtown. We love living in PA with its proximity and access to the outdoors. We have more space than we need for just the two of us and enjoy sharing that and having people with different backgrounds through the house, the more the merrier.

    Here's a little about us:
    Marianne grew up in Norway and brought her Scandinavian sensibilities and baking skills to the US in 2007. After getting her MBA in Monterey CA back then, she now works as a sustainable business professional while also developing a farm and business community in Port Angeles.

    Sam is local to the Olympic Peninsula and after almost 20 years away from the region was drawn back to its endless adventuring opportunities and mountainbike trails. He juggles a full time job as a market researcher and various construction projects.

    We both work from home in our day-jobs, but enjoy flexible schedules among our various projects, so we come and go a lot. Our place is a good spot for someone who's self-sufficient and comfortable making themselves at home in someone else's house.

    While we don't have kids of our own, there are a few neighborhood kids that roll through our house now and then. They're all fun and enjoy meeting various new folks too.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our household often feels like a community meeting place; we have both locals and out of town visitors on a regular basis. Having folks from different backgrounds learning from each other around the table is what inspires us to host.

    Travelers will have the opportunity to participate in whatever projects we have going on at the time and learn basic construction skills, local food preparation/preservation methods, bike mechanics, etc.

    We like to include visitors in recreational activities which often include bike rides, camping, fishing, foraging, etc.

    Group meals are a part of daily life here and we love to take local products are turn them into delicious meals. We have a solar dehydrator that is great for drying apples, mushrooms etc, so there's an opportunity to take part in that in the right season.

    Olympic National Park is basically in our backyard and there are plenty of opportunities for backcountry exploring, beach camping, fishing, etc. We have plenty of experience in these areas and would be happy to share knowledge and facilitate people getting off the beaten track.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a variety of tasks available and like to match people up with work they enjoy doing. We generally expect about 4 hours of work per day in exchange for 'room and board', but do not keep a rigid schedule and are very flexible on how it all comes together. If you prefer powering through an 8-hour day and have the next day off to adventure, that works for us.

    We have an ongoing need for help with housecleaning, so that's always an option. We welcome everything from a good deep clean to a bathroom scrub-down to window cleaning to general upkeep.

    We're also establishing a new farm space a couple miles away from our home, and we always have construction projects there, so if you are a skilled builder or have experience in construction there's certainly work for you.

    For anyone willing to put some manual labor in, we have a variety of tasks generally available including:
    - Weed pulling and invasive plant management
    - Wood chipping large slash piles
    - Window restoration
    - Prep for painting projects
    - Prep for construction projects including digging, trenching, raking etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have one of two upstairs bedrooms, both of whom have comfortable queen sized beds and one of which is equipped with a desk and monitor for remote work. There are two shared bathrooms in the house, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable livingroom with tv and fireplace. (Livingroom is generally occupied as a home office during the day on weekdays)

    Meal planning/cooking is a mix of shared group meals and on-your-own. We provide a fully stocked fridge and you're welcome to help yourself and use the kitchen to cook any time. A typical day in our house starts with coffee and work-time on the computer for those of us who have to and we all take care of our own breakfast needs at our own pace. We typically have granola, eggs, toast and the likes available, and Sam sometimes makes delicious breakfast burritos for us all.

    Dinner is more likely to be group meals and we like to cook and share meals at the end of a good workday. We have no dietary restrictions in our house and pretty much eat everything, but are used to accommodating special needs as well.

    We have 2 deep freezers that are stocked with local fish, berries, meat, mushrooms, etc. Baking bread, making yoghurt, preserving meat and vegetables are regular tasks in our household and the bounty of the Olympic Peninsula makes it really easy and delicious to eat local.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Local activities include trips to the National Park, hot springs, fishing, biking, beach time.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We both work part-time from home and have desk space if it is needed.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Street parking outside our house on a somewhat quiet neighborhood street.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs are fun, feel free to bring your (well-trained) four-legged travel companions.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 538313768298