aktualisiert  

Live with our sustainable healthy lifestyle and help with daily life in our family house in Cooran, Australia

  • Bisher 36 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 21 Apr. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 4. Myself, my husband and our 4.5 year old daughter and 1.5 yo Son.

    We have a passion for sustainable healthy living and music. Adam and I traveled through Central and South America for 2 years volunteering on several permaculture farms. We purchased our dream property of 10 acres in 2018 and have slowly been turning it into our paradise.

    We have a north facing 4 acre paddock which we have started a small syntropics system on. We were rotating a couple of friendly beef cows around this section of the property. However have recently sold the cows to focus more on other projects. The other half of the property is mostly native Australian forest with lots of wildlife. So our house is surrounded by bush and nature and yes we have a few spiders and snakes around. Along with wallabies, echidnas, goannas, cockatoos, King parrots and during mating season we even hear the koalas.

    Our main focus has been to get the infrastructure sorted, with new tanks to catch more water. Our focus is now on the gardens, tree lines and implementing swales. We have the capacity to be almost self-sufficient with vegetables just from the syntropics section when it is fully planted out. However with work life and family balance we struggle to stay on top of it and would love a hand in the gardens. We have also started work on herb gardens around the house. Next we will be working on implementing swales and planting out a food forests.

    In Spring (Sept - Nov) we grow broccoli, Asian greens, herbs, lettuce, spinach, silverbeet, cassava and bananas.

    In Summer (Dec - Feb) we don't have a whole lot as it's too hot! But tend to focus on planting out more tree lines and soon will have plentiful bananas. Cassava and some herbs. Pumpkins.

    March - time to plant again. Then throughout autumn and winter, we should have much more variety to share; beans, broccoli, kale, silver beet, asian greens, corn, cucumbers, tomatoes, raddish, turnips, cabbage, wombok, baby carrots, beetroot...and more.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will have the opportunity to learn about permaculture principals and syntropics style farming. You will get to learn about a deep composting chicken housing system. You may also gain experience around what its like to live on am manage a property, land management, water management, building skills.

    You will have the experience and comfort of living with an Australian family, eating healthy food and practising your English.

    We have a national park across the road from our property with trails to Cooroora mountain which is a spectacular mountain to climb. We are less than 10 mins to Pomona (by car); home of a silent theatre. Cooran is only 5 mins away (by car) with regular musical Tuesdays and an open mic night on a Saturday once a month. There's great community here yet we also have a very quiet secluded property. We sometimes host live music events ourselves.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would mostly like help in the gardens. Weeding, preparing garden beds, planting, watering. Help taking care of the chickens. Help around the house is always needed! Cooking is welcome also.

    We love learning other languages and would love our children to be exposed to other languages. We speak a little Spanish ourselves. Our children love meeting and playing with new people and some help with entertaining and taking care of them is more welcome. Adam is a cabinet maker by trade and a great teacher. If you have any practical skills with building or would like to learn this could also be a good opportunity. There are many projects to work on. We recently renovated the house and there are still a few loose ends to tie up here.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer a few options.
    2 Meals a day and accommodation in exchange for 4-5 hours work up to 5 days a week. ( no meals on non work days)
    Or just keep the work exchange to 8 hours per week in exchange for accommodation only. ( this option is really only for people staying in the caravan).

    We have a double bed in our studio space. The studio is a building separate but close to our main house. Our house is very small so the stuido acts as our spare room, office, storage and music room. It is a shared space so we also use it at times. However being separate from the main house it also alows to give you your own space. This bed is pictured in the photos. There is a compost toilet built out the back of this building ( no smell) for use when you are at the studio.

    We also have a caravan with an outdoor undercover camp kitchen and brazier. Outdoor hot shower that looks up and the stars. Compost toilet ( with no smell). All self sufficient and suitable for single or couple. This is the space more suited to long term stays. If your an adventurer you will love this space. It's a bit like camping. Your very much in nature. But with a comfy double bed. We created this space with the intention of being able to host people for longer periods of time in exchange for help on the property. (Eg. Accomodation only for 8 hours a week).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a train station and bus's available from our little town Cooran to beaches such as Noosa, and lovely towns, cafes, libraries, markets, bush walks, waterholes and waterfalls, train to the city (Brisbane).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a large indoor studio space that can be used for working or other projects if needed. We recently got WiFi and it works very well in the studio.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a leveled flat area that is appropriate for this with some access to power.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes, as long as they are friendly with children, chickens and wildlife. We don't have a fence so it may be necessary to tie a dog up at times.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    8 hours per person per week in exchange for accommodation only. Shared meals and more hours can be arranged.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 441597314134

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Hilf mit auf einem umweltfreundlichen kleinen Bauernhof in Victoria, Australien
Help out with the house and kids and experience the Gold Coast, Australia