Help our family with a variety of tasks and entertaining our son near Waimauku, New Zealand



Bisher 323 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We're currently not taking bookings due to a change of circumstances.

    We are three. A couple with a 7 year old son.
    Our paradise is 9 acres 40 minutes drive Northwest of Auckland, near a small village called Waimauku. The 9 acres is set on a hill sandwiched between two large beef farms.
    6 of our 9 acres is protected native New Zealand bush with mature trees including Kauri, Puriri, Rimu and Nikau. It's an extremely private spot and our house is nestled into the hill over looking the bush. There is great bird song, minimal light pollution and on clear night a spectacular nightscape.
    Our house is 18 years old and was built to be completely independent of nationally supplied electricity. Thus we generate all our electricity from 12 solar panels. A generator tops up on the few times through out the year that the sun does not shine enough to meet our needs. Water is heated via gas so hot showers are guaranteed regardless of the weather. We enjoy a large log fire during the winter. But don't get very cold here with only occasional frosts during the winter.
    As food and wine lovers meals are very important to us. We always cook from scratch and aim for mostly organic produce. We are meat eaters who most nights enjoy a glass of wine or craft beer. During the summer we love to dine outdoors at which time the charcoal BBQ and the Pizza oven are an important extension of our kitchen.
    Homemade cheese features on our menu. We get the milk unprocessed from a local farm.
    Hens are our thing, we have about 35 heritage breed layers and this year raised about 60 chicks and 5 ducks We make our own feed which includes sprouting the grains. All birds free range. the eggs are divine and roosters well....probably the best chicken you will ever taste.
    In progress are vegetable gardens for which we are learning to use our chicken work force to fertilise, turn over and build up top soil.
    We are 20 minutes away from one of New Zealand's best surf beaches, Muriwau and 30 minutes from beautiful east coast swimming beaches, 40 mins to Auckland City (outside of peak times). Also close by are vineyards, thermal hot pools, a brew pub, mountain bike parks, horse riding, sky diving, fishing, cruises on the Kaipara Harbour, produce markets, gyms, bush walks (some with water falls), Gibbs farm and other sculpture trails, Shops are all with a 10 minute drive.
    Sharing all this gives us great pleasure and extras in the house is fun for us.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    A very peaceful environment.
    All our guests are treated to excellent food and wine, some of which will be grown here, raised here or made here which they may be an integral part of.
    Chris is very knowledgeable on fine dining and is a fully qualified wine expert and Natalie in nutrient dense food as prepared slowly and traditionally, We love to share this knowledge.
    The opportunity to learn to make cheese.
    Learn to kill and process roosters and ducks ready for eating. (It's easier than you think)
    New Zealand's unique flora and fauna are literally right outside the front door.
    If you're inclined there are possums to be hunted.
    Chris is from the UK. So we are lovely mix of European and New Zealand culture. We like to think the best of both worlds.

  • Arbeit


    We are busy juggling away from home work, being parents as well as meeting our goals for our property/ home. Thus there is a plethora of things to done and we really value help.
    Depending on your skill set and what you feel comfortable with.
    Outside tasks could include; Line trimming, feeding hens, mowing lawns, harvesting produce, maintaining possum and rat traps, vegetable gardening, caring for the hens, pruning, hedge trimming, tree felling, culling roosters, water blasting. tending to the evening fire and chopping wood,
    Inside tasks such as: Sweeping and vacuuming, hanging out washing, cleaning windows and floors, making cheese, helping to prepare an evening meal, washing dishes.
    And taking time to converse with our son and encourage him in his play. This might include coming up with activities suitable for a 7 year old boy. From helping him with his reading or complete a jigsaw puzzle even allowing him to dig along side you in the garden. He loves being outside and we believe that should be encouraged. If you build a rapport with him childminding could be included as a task.
    We are happy to have singles or couples and find best is people who are happy to work on their own.

    If you have chainsaw skills we always have space and work for you, ignore the above dates and please contact us anytime.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We offer a comfortable double room in our house with a rural outlook and a Queen sized bed. The room also has wardrobe and drawer storage. Adjacent to the room is a family bathroom which you will share with our son. The shower is awesome but in the summer we need to be mindful of water usage so we ask that you keep your showers to 10 mins max)
    The house is modern and warm.
    There is unlimited broadband.
    We do not have terrestrial TV. Favouring movies instead played on our multi zone DVD player or netflicks
    All appliances are switched off at the wall while we are sleeping to minimise power usage.
    You have your own shelf in the pantry and free range of our fridge. Breakfasts and lunches are to be prepared by you. Evening meals we all eat together as a family.
    It is an important part of hosting work-aways for us to share this evening meal. Our evening meal almost always comprises of some meat and we've found in the past catering for vegetarians doesn't suit us.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are close to Auckland but public transport through out New Zealand is patchy. We are happy to collect and deliver you to and from the bus stop Kumeu. Or if times line up with our trips in and out of the city, from central Auckland. However if you are staying in New Zealand for some time we really recommend you purchase a cheap car as it really is the best and most economical way to see lots.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our guest room.
Our family / guest bathroom.
We get spectacular sunsets.
Our feathered friends getting a winter vegetable garden ready for planting
The garden.
A peek of the 6 acres of native bush that we overlook, Also some of our solar panels that support our off the grid system.
Muriwai Beach. One of New Zealand's best surf beaches and our local. An easy 20 minute drive.
We love cheese and especially enjoy home made using local unprocessed milk.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 386372266853