1 / 3
aktualisiert  

Come and experience beautiful Dorset, England, UK

  • Großbritannien
  • Bisher 159 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 26.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 4, with 2 children aged 9&7 (a girl and a boy) and a lovely friendly cocker spaniel. We have fairly recently moved to a lovely house in the heart of the countryside on the Dorset/Somerset border. We both enjoy buying run down houses and renovating them bringing them back to their traditional selves enhancing their features etc. However, we both also work, James as a surveyor and Jj as an interior designer. This project has been our hardest yet we have put a lot into it although during the pandemic things took a long time to progress. We are struggling with the load of work a family and the day to day running of the house, and therefore are needing some help!

    We have Mungo the dog but going forward are hoping to make some space for some chickens, a pony and we already have some sheep that are looked after by a local farmer. Jj has her own bee hives and is mentored by a very knowledgable lady in the village who also has her own small holding, we have just taken honey from them for the first time this year. You will learn to handle bees and know their lifecycle and plants they favour, if that is your interest.

    We love the countryside and the village we live in has a lovely community! The children love the freedom and space here, they attend different schools, although get on well, and love to play in the garden, swim, go on bike rides, and play board games. We enjoy cooking and eating good food and would like to attempt to grow some of our own food here too. We have not grown our own vegetables yet, but this is our starter year.....you can join in our journey.

    We are friendly and fun with a can do attitude, we enjoy socialising and being with people, and I would say we are a caring and loving family. We are keen to build a home that not only we can enjoy but that we hope to make a lovely refuge for friends, family and those in need of an escape in the future, and we hope it will benefit those in the community too. Our reason for hoping to find some help on the project (which now needs help predominantly outside) is that we are finding there is a bit too much to do for the 2 of us whilst trying to work and parent, earlier this year we were rather shocked to hear that James has Leukaemia which has slowed him down, for a usually very fit, sporty and and healthy guy this has been really hard and Jj struggles to do the work that requires more strength! Although he is undertaking treatment which is working well and we have a positive outlook he does need to be careful.
    Ameilia, our eldest, has Marfan's syndrome, so there is an opportunity of studying 2 children with completely different child development.

    Sherborne is our nearest town and steeped in history....we boast 2 castles and a glorious Abbey. There is lots to do around here and transport would be in the form of our smaller car. The Jurassic Coast is not far away, and scenery in Dorset is to be seen to be believed.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    -Living in the English countryside is a wonderful experience, watching nature, getting to know the locals and being involved in the community is a real experience, people here are very friendly and knowledgeable about farming, animals and gardening.
    -We hope you will learn skills in Speaking English, Gardening, Maintenance, Bee keeping, Animal care, and cooking.
    -The Dorset Coast is some of the most famous coast line and it is approx 40minutes away so there is much to explore and see.
    -The Cities of Bath & Bristol area about 1 hour away and have much culture to offer.
    -London is accessible (2.5hours) by train from our local station.
    -We enjoy eating good food and sharing part of our culture with others and are sociable people who have always had aupairs living with us so are used to deferent nationalities living alongside us. It is a great chance to practice English and also we hope you will learn some skills from being with us.
    -We will be happy to pay the minimum wage according to the government guidelines which we can discuss, the accommodation is included in this, however, we would ask that you are responsible for your own food arrangements, apart from when you share a meal with us obviously.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for an individual to help us whilst we are working on our renovation, it is mostly landscaping left to do at this moment. We would like someone who is knowledgable and happy to work along side us as we learn new skills related to living on the land. Ideally we need help with the house and garden and with the children and dog.

    Someone with a "can do" attitude is essential really, and some general skills might be helpful, the house is in need of some of the finishing jobs doing, (the garden is a bit of a mess, and in need of some landscaping, planting and care). Fortunately the house itself is mostly completed. but someone who has some building knowledge would be excellent, but not essential.

    With help in the house we need someone who is kind, patient, clean, organised and has experience of keeping a home, and someone who is good with children. If they are good at cooking that’s a bonus, although Jj loves cooking and can pass on some of her recipes and inspiration. It’s just general help needed in the house really, but the person must be a loving person who likes children and a tidy and organised person who can help keep some order in the house! Jj might also ask for some help with my interiors organisation and can teach you some things to do with Interior Design and colours etc.

    We need someone who can drive as we are rather rural and need help taking the children to and from school.

    We’d like non smokers please.

    You must have a driving licence.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A flat with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is so much to see in this part of the world, and the nearest train station is 2 miles away, with access to london in 2.5 hours.
    Castles, historical buildings etc. and the coast are all within easy reach and there could be use of a car if you can drive.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have wifi so working from here should not be a problem.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Aprox 5 hours a day, 3-5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 352958115478

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder

Feedback


Restoration of family home and gardens on the shores of Strangford Lough, Northern Ireland
Eco building project, planting native trees and creating a wild garden in ancient woodland near Tarbert, Scotland, UK