Learn about organic methods and enjoy a cultural exchange with us in Oliver, BC, Canada

  • Bisher 198 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 30 Mai 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat



  • Beschreibung


    We are a certified organic family run farm located in Oliver, BC in the sunny south Okanagan valley. Although we need Workawayers help, we hope for an honest and cultural exchange, and for you to leave with a recommendation for others to come. Our focus is ground crop, so much of the work is the daily grind of weeding, pruning, harvesting etc., however we have many on going projects, and will endeavor to give you a diverse and interesting experience. Lose to lakes and hiking there is a lot to do on your days off. 30 min north is Penticton, with Skaha Bluffs for avid rockclimbers, and to the south is the town of Osoyoos boasting Canada's warmest lake. I farm to sustain myself and my kids, and I love what I do. All this to say- it is hectic keeping it all going. The decision to receive volunteers the first time in 2017 was taken in an attempt to strike some balance. Over the last three seasons I haven't ever regretted it.

    The exchange, the friendship the conversations over dinner have been a lot of fun. Farming is a lifestyle that is enhanced when it is shared. This wouldn't be the farm it is today without the volunteers who have helped build it.

    The farm focus for 2024 is to keep going, and to be sustainable both economically and environmentally. The household focus is to be as self sufficient as possible, but in a modern and reasonable sense. I'm not looking to live on a farm from the 1800s, but to create a modern farm that embraces some of the technics from the past and also employs modern technics to create a more responsible model. I don't ever know how organized things will be, and if I will have the time to mentor people on the side projects, (like our essential oil still and metal forge) but you are welcome to teach yourself and use the tools. If you are interested in farming, I am happy to teach you whatever I can, from how to set up irrigation to how I balance the soil, and if you have questions just ask. I love to cook, and always enjoy woofers/workawayers who share that passion. If you have read this far you are a patient and passionate person and I think you might be a good fit. Please get in touch. Mike and Anja

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In return I try to include workawayers in what is going on in the community and teach them whatever I can about my interests. Every year I take whoever is on the farm to the Keremeos Rodeo, and twice a month we go to the Firehall brewery for the open mic (so if you play and instrument or sing- this is your chance). Its a lot of fun. For workawayers who don't know Canada, it's something different and hopefully enriching.

    The farm also volunteers with the Senpoqcin first nations school, so its a great place for people to get practice teaching kids gardening, and learn about the rich culture and generous spirit of the people who rightfully belong here. It is also an amazing school and a real eye opener to a great approach to pedagogy. Our participation is through the schools cultural department, which encompasses life skills like smoking meat, learning language, traditional practices, cooking and finally a bit of gardening.

    Learn about organic/biological methods used on my property:
    No till. Stale seed bed. Flame weed. Straw, Fabric and Plastic Mulch. Composting. Biological Predator Control. Heirloom production. Rare breed. Companion Planting.

    Biological pest control, Composting, Crop rotation, Mulching, No-Till Agriculture, Pastured Poultry
    bread making, CSA (community supported agriculture), culinary herbs, fermentation of foods, gardens, vegetable, greenhouse, machine & equipment mechanics, seed saving

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Types of Help:
    Animal Care, Construction projects, Drying, Egg gathering, Farm Tasks, general, Kitchen help, Landscaping, Maintenance, general

    Current projects:
    May: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Harvest, Building Dehydrator, Setting up prep room. Breaking Pasture for culture.

    June: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Breaking Pasture pasture for culture. Chickens

    July: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Start Greenhouse build. Canning. Chickens

    August: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Greenhouse build. Canning. Chickens

    September:Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Pull finished crop. Canning. Chickens

    October: Harvest, Pull finished crops. Blow out irrigation. Dig winter drainage. Chickens

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Holiday Camper/Trailer/Caravan

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Depending on our capacity we usually have space for multiple Campers or vans.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours/day,5days/week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 348328683133

Feedback (11)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Help out on our ranch twenty minutes from Osoyoos BC, Okanagan Valley, Canada
Dog and horse lovers welcome to help at our home in Bridge Lake, BC, Canada