Experience East Coast life connected to bush and sea in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

  • Neuseeland
  • Bisher 504 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 4 Dez. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Nau mai haere mai! Welcome! Willkommen!
    Thanks for checking out our page...

    We are a couple living on a property with 14ha of protected native bush (forest), small flocks of chickens and ducks, a few sheep, hundreds of birds, thousands of glow-worms, millions of insects, organic gardens & fruit trees - and our first baby boy, Mātai-Nuku born in March.
    All of us are looking forward to hopefully host you soon in this very special corner of the world :)

    Hōri -
    Māori/Pākehā. From my mother, I descend from tribes in the Bay of Plenty region from the ancestral canoes - Nukutere, Mataatua & Te Arawa. My father is Pākehā from the South Island (Otago) with Scottish, English and Viking ancestry. I bought this property in 2017 and have hosted workaway volunteers ever since. In 2018 I volunteered for many workaway hosts as I backpacked around the world (mainly in Europe and South America).
    My vision is to live a simple, self-sufficient life connected to land and sea. Creating a safe space where people can be high on nature.

    Free spirit. Introvert. Animal and nature lover. Yoga. Non meat eater. Non drinker. Simple and natural way of living. Homegrown, homemade organic food and medicine. Tidy and hard worker.
    I started traveling the world when I just turned 20 after I finished my apprenticeship in Hotel Management. Travelling became my biggest passion and I kept exploring the world for the following 14 years on and off. In between travelling, working and volunteering all over the globe, where I met amazing people and made some very special memories, I always kept coming back to Switzerland and Germany to see my family and gather some pocketmoney for more travels. In that time I also got my massage therapist certificates in Switzerland.

    We are looking for energetic, self motivated, environmentally conscious people who have skills and experience to help with these current projects :

    - Help with deck building
    - Help with mamaku fence building
    - Animal pest control (possums, rats, musterlids, cats, mice)
    - Physical, organic weed control
    - and other home care/maintenance/gardening tasks if needed

    We can offer volunteers Māori culture, NZ flora & fauna info, NZ music, guitars, healthy organic homegrown food, eco friendly living, a peaceful place to be away from the stresses of travel & the city.

    We strive to live a waste free life, so if you bring any plastic products (or any other waste) with you, we kindly ask that you take it with you when you leave. You can leave biodegradable waste.

    This place is free from drugs, cigarettes, vapes and alcohol. Please don’t apply if you rely on these substances.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Connecting/reconnecting to land and sea, environmentally conscious lifestyle, conservation/ecology information, Māori culture/language, NZ music, native plants & birds, rongoā (Māori natural medicine), seasonal organic homegrown and locally sourced food, offset your carbon footprint from traveling by helping with conservation - giving back to nature.
    We love exchanging culture, music, recipes/cooking/food, language, dreams, stories, positive vibes.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Help with moving mamaku into position for fence, move gravel/soil with wheel barrow, simple building tasks. Hōri will work alongside you.
    Walk/service trap line.
    General gardening and house/property maintenance.
    On Thursdays we usually help papa on family land (20mins drive)

    Helping hours are from after breakfast to lunch time. 5 hours in the mornings so you have the afternoons free and avoid the hotter part of the day e.g. 7am-12pm or 8am-1pm

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Maori: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We live on rainwater so guests must be conscious of water consumption.

    Volunteers have their own cabin with bathroom, compost toilet and special view over protected native bush, VERY PEACEFUL. Kitchen and Wifi will be at the main tiny house, where we live. Wifi is limited and is turned off every night when we go to sleep. It should go without saying, but it is expected that we all respect each other’s space. Three meals are provided for the days you work. These meals can be repetitive as we eat seasonally off the land. If you are a big eater it may pay to bring yourself extra food. Share the cooking and clean up. We ask that volunteers organise their own food for their days off (many choose to go on overnight trips for their 2 days off).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are flexible about when you take your 2 days off a week, but appreciate it if you take them when Hōri has to go to work.

    We recommend having your own vehicle to get around as there is no public transport and we are isolated from town and other attractions.

    Property is located 7min drive to nearest beach (Hikuwai/Hukuwai) and 10min drive (30min bike) to Ōpōtiki township.

    The area offers bush walks, glow worms, camping, sea swimming/surfing/diving, cycling, bike trails (Motu Trails), tramping, bush huts, ancient trees, rafting, paddling, yoga, meditation, gardening, organic food, sustainable living, reading, environmental protection/guardianship, NZ birds, Ōpōtiki Library (books and free unlimited wifi), café/restaurants, arts & crafts stores, opshops, Motu river jetboat, new skatepark, Moutohorā (Whale Island) tours, kayaking tours, orchards (kiwi fruit, macadamia, avocado, citrus), Whakatōhea Mussels (largest open ocean mussel farm), fishing, hunting, beach walks, sunrises/sunsets, fires, star gazing, river swimming, rock/bridge jumping (bombs), chilling.

    Transport to and from Ōpōtiki - your own vehicle, hitchhiking, bus, plane to Whakatāne, yacht/vessel, bike.
    From Auckland you can fly with Air Chathams to Whakatāne or bus to Ōpōtiki with Intercity. There’s also a bus from Tauranga called the Bayhopper. If you don't have your own vehicle we can pick you up from Ōpōtiki.

    Its about 4.5 hours drive in a car from Auckland.
    From Whakatāne - 45 minutes drive.
    From Hamilton - 3.5 hours drive.
    From Tauranga - 2 hours drive.
    From Rotorua - 2 hours drive.
    From Gisborne - 2 hours drive.
    From Te Araroa (near East Cape - the first place in the world to see the sunrise) - 2.5 hours drive.
    From Taupō - 3 hours drive.
    From Wellington - 7.5 hours drive.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Normal van size. Not a super large campervan

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 278662491363

Feedback (27)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Experience rural Auckland, New Zealand
Fun family welcomes friendly helpers in Timaru, New Zealand