Handy adventurers welcome for the renovation of our beautiful train station in the Harz, Germany

  • Deutschland
  • Bisher 193 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 07.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi! How nice that you have landed on our profile. We are Edward (52 years young) and Ingrid (55 years young), Dutch and living in Ballenstedt since September 2020, where we bought an old and decayed train station. We instantly fell in love with the building and its historical details, which have many stories to tell. Ballenstedt is located in the beautiful region of the Harz, in the former East Germany.

    Since July 2020 we have been working on the mega job and we would like to invite you to help us and have adventures with us. We have already had fantastic help from dozens of WorkAwayers from as many Nationalities and love the Workaway platform to get to know other people and cultures. Ingrid has been a Workawayer herself.

    2020 was all about demolition, 2021 and 2022 was all about building, and 2023 will be about finishing. Do you like to paint, carpenter or work in the garden? There are plenty of different jobs to do, with fun always coming first.

    We are open, honest, enthusiastic, welcoming and love challenges. A station is always a lively place of people from all over the world who have their own life stories. That is what we also want to achieve with our station (unfortunately without rails, but with a beautiful bike path). We enjoy connecting people at our station and contributing to their travel stories.

    Our English is very good, our German good (and getting every day better) and Ingrid also speaks a little French and Italian.

    Of course you become part of our life and we like to take the Workawayers everywhere (if you want of course).

    Our project is getting a lot of attention from the Dutch and German media. We have even been on Dutch National television and are now being followed by German television.

    The town of Ballenstedt is small (about 5,500 inhabitants), but has a beautiful castle that is also related to our train station. Tourist places like Quedlinburg (an UNESCO World Heritage Site), Wernigerode and Thale (Middle Mountains) are close by, as well as trendy cities like Leipzig (75 minutes by car), Magdeburg (50 minutes by car) and Berlin (2 hours by car). Ballenstedt is located in a quiet area, with beautiful nature. You can do wonderful biking and hiking in the area.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The Workaways are becoming a part of our lives. We really enjoy involving the Workayers in our daily activities and social life. At the station you will get to know the various German and Dutch craftsmen and perhaps other WorkAwayers. Beyond that, you may also join us to visit our (Dutch and German) friends and family. Of course we also make day trips to explore the surroundings of Ballenstedt.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would love some help with
    -carpentry
    -sanding
    -painting (doors, windows, walls, sealing ect)
    -gardening
    -paving
    - tiling
    - And more ...

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are living in the station building since the end of 2022. In the large living room we have a comfortable sofa, chairs and a television, perfect for relaxing. We sleep in the basement, which is still somewhat improvised. There we also have (also improvised) spaces for our WorkAwayers. Of course, we have a (shared) bathroom with toilet and shower.

    We make sure that you lack nothing and provide plenty of breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks and of course fun! Of course, we take you into account and make the shopping list for the supermarket together.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have a passenger van for 8 people, so after work we can arrange fun trips to explore the nature and cultural wealth of the area. Unfortunately, there is no longer a railroad line in front of our station, but there is a bus station right next to our building, with good bus connections to the various places around Ballenstedt. Train stations are located in Quedlinburg and Hoym-Nachterstedt.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We can host Digital Nomads. There is plenty of space to work online. Internet speed is still limited at 16MB, but we hope to be connected to fiber in January/February.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have garden space around the station building. The bathroom with shower and toilet is in the station building.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 199615586232

Feedback (20)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




























Looking for help pick fruits and Roses and learn about liqueurs in Bavaria, Germany
Join our family in a big house surrounded by beautiful nature in Baden-Württemberg, Germany