Building projects on a small farmhouse in the beautiful Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 176 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    31.10.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello future friends!

    Hi my name is Chloe, I am 38 years old and I live with my dad and my son (and the ever changing group of friends passing through) at my dad's farm in France. Right now I am looking for someone to finish insulating under my floor to help keep us warm during the winter. It should take about a week.
    You don't need to be skilled in building (although if you are then that's great and you will be super welcome!) but be happy and able to do lifting, climbing ladders and 5 hours a day of physical work.
    The farmhouse where we all live is a beautiful old bastide, which surrounds an inner courtyard. During the summer months we host courses and retreats here. There are typical villages to explore nearby, weekly markets and if the sun is shining lots of rivers perfect for cooling off and swimming.
    There will be other volunteers at the farm when you come, but enough space for everyone to be free. The size, silence and feel of the place means it can be very socialable, but it's also easy to find peace if that is what you're looking for. In the evenings and during free time we will all have space to relax, share, and enjoy the sounds of the surrounding countryside. Every evening we share a big meal together.
    We speak English and French fluently (although it often turns out English is the main language we use) but when there are other volunteers here we can have a whole mix of languages going on!
    We do not see the experience as only a swap of work for food and accommodation (although, of course that is what it is) But more of us all creating a (small or large) community together for our time together, where we all look after ourselves and each other. And are all always learning from each other too.
    If you are interested in joining us please do get in touch.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hopefully, you will learn lots of building skills, and be surprised what can be achieved during your time here.
    The house is in a rural setting, we will use produce from the garden to cook and you will experience a slower pace of living while you are here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There's just a small area of floor that needs insulating... It should take about a week to finish and will involve cutting and shaping the insulation boards, gluing them to the underside of the floor (working from below) and then stuffing any gaps with soft insulation.
    It would help if you are methodical and precise in the way you work as the insulation needs to be well laid... Otherwise it doesn't work and the warm air escapes through any holes!
    But we will show you what to do, so don't worry if it's a new skill for you.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have a bedroom in the farmhouse. And all bedding and towels will be provided. Depending on how many people are here, you may have a room to yourself, or you may be asked to share with someone else.
    We have a big garden, a vegetable garden and a field as well as other outbuildings that you are welcome to explore.
    All food will be provided. We will help ourselves to breakfast and lunch and in the evening we will all come together to share a big meal. We usually take it in turns to cook for each other, so you might be asked to join a cooking team once or twice a week.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are in a tiny hamlet in the Tarn. The nearest big city with flight and train links is Toulouse. If coming by public transport the easiest way to arrive is by train to Carmaux where we can come and pick you up. Also Blablacar (a car sharing website) works very well in France and is often a cheaper and more convenient way to travel.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week please

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)











Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 164624866762