aktualisiert  

Help us start a self-reliant permaculture learning community in Northern Portugal, Sande

  • Bisher 41 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 10 Juli 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there!

    We are Luana, Dennis and our son Inti (4yo). We bought a Quinta (farm) close to Marco de Canaveses in North Portugal with our long-time friends Sasja, Sophia and their son Lamar, who are currently still working and living in Amsterdam, where we all met. We're from all over, a mixed bunch you might say. The thing we have in common is our aspirations of an ecological and inclusive future for humans and other life forms.


    Our Background.

    From 2010 till 2012 we travelled South, Central and North America where the seed for a different life was planted. It was the first time we came in contact with community living and permaculture and it was love at first sight. After returning to Amsterdam to study, work and save up for our next big trip. We packed our bags again and between 2017 and 2019 we traveled, worked and volunteered all over Asia and a tiny part of Australia. Our mission this time was to use WorkAway as a way to research and get to know different intentional communities, eco-villages and permaculture projects.

    In Amsterdam we have been very active in non-profits. Working towards environmental sustainability and social equality. One of our biggest projects has been Taste Before You Waste which has been founded by Luana and Sophia. It’s an organisation where we reduce food waste and create awareness by giving surplus food a second chance at one of our donation-based community dinners, cultural events or workshops. Our Quinta is next big project.


    Our Quinta.

    The property is a beautiful 3,6 hectare forest with two houses, a ruin, a caravan and a couple of outbuildings. There are fruit and nut trees, streams and water basins and birdsongs throughout.

    We see ourselves as stewards of the land, which is already a safe haven for many animals and plant life. We want to lead a calm life in contact with nature where our children can run freely and connect to their surroundings. We would like to regenerate the land and nurture our local ecosystem, based on permaculture principles. We intend to practise self-reliance and create a place for learning, sharing and giving back to our surroundings and community. The idea is to invite people of all ages and backgrounds to our Quinta for an immersive experience on how to live a more ecological and connected life. A place where individuals and families have a community and support system with whom they share childcare, education, skills, opportunities, harvests and of course friendship, celebration and inspiration. Our common house is the heart of it all - where we can host workshops and small-scale cultural events, as well as a learning co-op for children from the area.


    Ideal for.

    Heart-centred, free spirits, interested in practicing an ecologically sound and more connected life. We're ESPECIALLY OPEN TO FAMILIES with (young) kids for Inti to play with. And people with knowledge and experience in unschooling, forest schooling, permaculture veg gardens, animals, watering, strimming and chainsaw, building, carpentry etc etc.....). We'd also love to welcome photographers or videographers to help us create content for social media :)

    We are also open to DEDICATED LONGTERM VOLUNTEERS AND RESPONSIBLE PEOPLE TO JOIN THE PROJECT.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    First of all, staying with us you will have the chance disconnect from fast-paced life and re-connect with the beautiful nature that surrounds us. We're huge foodies and love sharing home-cooked vegetarian meals. We're happy to share our knowledge in wood work, construction, cooking, conserving, crafts, natural cosmetics, beginner herbalism, education, child care, yoga, music, permaculture, ecology, sociology, and community organising. If you're into languages we cover many between the three of us. So you'll get to practice Spanish (our main language), Dutch, English and Portuguese.

    We're free spirits and travellers at heart and have loads of experience as volunteers ourselves. We believe to have an idea of what a great WorkAway experience entails.

    Even though we haven't been here long, we are on great terms with our Portuguese neighbours and we've already managed to integrate ourselves into the community of likeminded local and international people with similar projects.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We (Luana, Dennis and Inti) just moved on to the land in Oct. 2022 and until the start of Feb. 2023 it wasn't even officially our property. So now that the documents are signed we can finally start! And there is SO much to do!

    The buildings are in great condition, but the land/forest itself however has been neglected for many many years. At this moment it is so overgrown that some parts are impenetrable. We need all hands on deck to clear it and make it less of a fire risk. Some of the fruit trees need pruning. The waterworks (basins, channels and catchment systems) need to be re-habilitated. We would like to improve our compost system, build a compost toilet and chicken run/coup and start new garden beds as well as take care of the already existing garden.

    If you enjoy children:
    We appreciate you spending time with Inti. He is a lively, talkative and very energetic boy who loves riding his blue "motor" cycle, climbing in trees and going on forest adventures.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Croatian: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Luana is always happy to practice her French or Italian. Dennis really needs to learn more Portuguese :)

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have different types of sleeping arrangements available:

    Big tent.
    Comfortable big tent with twin mattress. Access to communal outdoor kitchen, living space and bathroom can be shared with us in the main house.

    Middle tent.
    Comfortable middle sized tent with twin mattress. Access to communal outdoor kitchen, living space and bathroom can be shared with us in the main house.

    Small tent.
    Best for a single person who likes simple living in contact with nature. We can provide a sleeping mat but you would have to bring your own sleeping bag. Kitchen, living space and bathroom can be shared with us in the main house.

    Own tent.
    Flat, shady spaces in the middle of nature there are no lack of. You are welcome to bring your own camping gear and set up camp. Kitchen, living space and bathroom can be shared with us in the main house.

    Own Campervan.
    There are flat, easily accessible and shady spaces. We can provide water/refill, and a space to dump your grey water. Kitchen, living space and bathroom can be shared with us in the main house.

    ------

    Type of exchanges:
    Full board = A place to sleep/park-up & 3 vegetarian meals a day (mostly organic): max. 5 hours per day 5 days a week.*

    Half board = Sleeping / park-up space: max. 3 hours a day 5 days a week. You provide for your own meals, but arrangements can be made to have meals together.

    *Families choosing full-board will be asked for an extra contribution (monetary or in work) for the meals of the kids.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our surroundings:
    - The Douro river is 2km away. There are many walking trails and river beaches in the nearby area.
    - The town of Marco de Canaveses is a 15 min. drive, we go several times a week and are happy to share the ride. There you can find nice cafe's and restaurants and many cultural events.
    - The Roman archeological site of Tongobriga is also a 15 min. drive.
    - The bustling city of Porto is a bit more than an hour by train away. We're happy to bring you to the nearest station.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have high speed internet available inside the big house. If you need internet outside the house to be able to work in a quiet spot, the best is to get a Portuguese internet sim-card for €15,- every two weeks.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There are flat, easily accessible and shady spaces. We can provide water/refill, and a space to dump your grey water. Bathroom can be shared with us in the main house & there is a communal outdoor kitchen available as well. Any vehicle up to 3500kg. can access the property via cobble-stone road. There is one part which is quite steep in the middle of a turn. On rainy days old vans with weak motors can have some trouble getting up. We DO NOT allow people pulling caravans to visit us since they seem to have loads of trouble reaching our place. And it stresses everybody out.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Full board: 5 hours a day, 5 days a week --- Only sleeping/parking-up: 3 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 763234443363

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Help to build a refuge for artists in Flores, Azores, Portugal
Eco-village life, help us build our little family home in Romãs, Sátão, Portugal