Help me to establish and develop my permaculture project near Houston, Texas, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 296 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.01.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    967

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 37 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Howdy,

    My name is Will and I have recently returned home from traveling (Bikepacking across New Zealand and dairy farming in Sweden most recently) and now that I have a roof over my head I'd like to extend it over yours. I benefited greatly from the hospitality of various hosts during my travels and would love to spread that generosity forward to guests in my country. There is something very special about traveling that occurs when people of different backgrounds and cultures come together to create, and that something is what I want to try and cultivate back home.

    My parents and I live on our family owned property located about 50 miles (80km) north of Houston, Texas. I grew up here and it holds a very special place in my heart with grassy pastures, dense wooded areas, a few ponds, a waterski lake, and a river running along the back, it is a truly great place to be.

    We have raised horses and cattle for 20 years, but I believe it is time to broaden our agricultural horizons. So now I have added chickens into the mix, raising layers and broilers following Joel Salatin's pastured poultry model.

    I have dreams of a permaculture paradise, come help me realize them. I envision groves of fruit and nut trees mixed with vast swaths of vegetable gardens. I'd like to start building fruit and vegetable gardens using a variety of permaculture techniques and eventually produce enough food to support ourselves and our local community.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We enjoy showing others what life is like in our little slice of Texas and try to expose others to new experiences to make their travels memorable.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help consists of a wide range of tasks depending on your experience, skills, and desire.

    We have gardens to build and maintain, trees to plant, animals to feed and care for, fences to mend, and the list continues. The tasks vary depending on the time of year and what project we're working on but will generally be outdoors and hands-on, though we also could always use a hand with cleaning and organizing around the house and barn for anyone interested.

    We are flexible with hours, more focused on accomplishing tasks, you can work at your own pace: maybe do a few long days helping with a few days of relaxing or help a few hours each morning, we can discuss as needed.

    There are a few larger projects I'm interested in completing this spring: fencework including clearing brush and repairing damage caused by Hurricane Harvey, and running new electric fence to establish a rotational grazing system; building mobile chicken coops to scale up our pastured poultry operation; and placing a hugelkulur/swale system to improve drainage and soil quality on a hilly section of our property. So if you have any particular interest or experience in these areas your help would be greatly appreciated.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Attached to the main house we have a furnished guest house/garage apartment complete with a/c and heat. Up stairs are 3 bedrooms (one for me, two for workawayers) and a shared bathroom. Downstairs is a shared kitchen, laundry facilities, and another bathroom.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is no public transportation available in the area, though we live a very short drive from the center of town and can give the occasional ride if you want to do some shopping, explore civilization, or just get off the ranch for a bit. It's not crazy far to ride a bike to town, though it is very uncommon and a bit unsafe due to traffic.

    Of course there is almost endless opportunities for rest, relaxation or fun on the property. We have plenty of room to stretch your legs, ride bikes, go for a swim, practice some yoga, play music, or just enjoy being outdoors. If you are here in summer time you will have the chance to waterski on our lake and ride horses on occasion.

    Houston is only about an hour's drive away, so if you need a dose of the big city it's not too far away if you have your own transportation.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 141183114641