Help around our small family farm while exploring life in Waterville, Canada

  • Bisher 13 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 27 Mai 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    We have a lovely small homestead in rural Nova Scotia and love growing seasonal, organic vegetables & berries and orchard fruits on our land. It is really beautiful here as well being serene and peaceful. We live close to a couple of small towns and are about 1.5 hours' drive to Halifax. On our small farm holding, we have a flock of Shetland sheep for wool and a lot of free ranging hens and chicks for eggs. This year we are adding a small number of meat birds for personal consumption and have recently added a dairy heifer to our farm. We have one dog and one cat on our farm.

    We have had farm helpers come to our homestead and stay with us in our house for several years (i.e. Wwoof Canada and Help X) and have loved meeting and working with each and every person who came to help us. We offer some extra veggies and fruits harvested from our gardens to our neighbours and friends who can come by to pick them up or to pick them themselves. There is such a variety of different tasks to do here - depending on the season - that we are rarely bored. We ask our helpers to work with us in the family gardens and in the barn looking after our animals. We generally start our day around 8:30 am and try to finish up by mid afternoon. Helpers have all weekends off.

    The accommodations in our farmhouse include a large loft bedroom, with a fantastic view, your own private bathroom and sitting room. We love having our guests sit and chat with us during off time - we have our meals together and, perhaps, will share a drink in the afternoon or evening, play a game of cards or take a walk, etc. if desired.

    We accept a helper or two for 2 - 4 weeks. We can easily feed helpers who are omnivores or vegetarians. We can not accept helpers with children or dogs (unless trained to not chase livestock).

    This year, we would love to have our shed repainted in a new color and perhaps the fence boards painted in a couple of small paddocks as well. We have converted some of our gardens into No Till No Dig as a means to save time weeding and to increase density of crops growing in each row.

    Marilyn - a retired veterinarian and stays home full time on the farm. Paul - helps out when he can but still works almost full time as a pharmacist.

    We really look forward to meeting you and are hoping to inspire you and teach you how to start a really successful garden so that you will gain confidence in growing some of your own food.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Most travelers love this farm and all that they will learn when staying here. We enjoy teaching young enthusiast gardeners everything that we know and feel confident that they will leave with a strong love for gardening. Working outside with the soil and with animals gives a sense of purpose and accomplishment. So many people tell us that they wish they had our life!

  • Arbeit


    Our farm is small but very diverse and we try to grow everything and eat from our land. We ask our helpers for their assistance in our family gardens, feeding and watering our livestock, harvesting, and helping with meal preparation. Helpers will help only in our family gardens not intended for business.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Our farmhouse is a large house that has been very well maintained over its long lifetime. Helpers will have their own loft bedroom with a fantastic view, their own private bath and a private living room space. We have lovely gardens all about.

    We provide our helpers with all of their meals and snacks. Much of the food at our place is organic and my husband is a meat eater and I am a vegetarian but eat some fish. We eat lots of vegetables, fruits, dairy, eggs and meat/fish included in our diets.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Helpers can relax at the farm when not working, or they can visit some of the local sights. We offer a good bicycle for short trips and can loan helpers our car if they are licensed.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a few spots close to the house or barn where electrical outlets can be accessed if someone comes with a camper or van. We also have available a private bathroom for helpers inside of the house, if needed.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Only if the pet does not chase livestock. Our chickens are free ranging over our farm property.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 118752147979

Weitere Bilder


Live and be a part of our growing intentional/conscious community in Hockley Valley near Toronto, Canada
Spécial Springtime cleanup, Gardening, timber sawing and enlarging forest paths Surrounded by the wilderness in Gaspésie - Canada