Organic farm in the forest in South Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 414 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there. We are Chris and Britt!! We have a beautiful little farm surrounded by native forest and apple and cherry orchards. Yum! We live here with two geese, a pet python and a couple of nice house spiders. We like reading, can make reasonable coffee and try to eat only food we harvest. It is time for honey extraction and I'll need some help!!

    I have spent most of my life working in conservation biology and have travelled to many countries. I have also done some volunteering, including two years in Wadi Rum in Jordan working on threatened species reintroduction.

    I am now settling down and putting my efforts into my own parch of earth. In 2013 I bought a very neglected old organic apple orchard with a run-down but cute cottage. I have now rescued 2 acres of orchard from a sea of blackberry bushes and have planted many other fruit trees and a vegetable garden. I have put in solar power, rainwater tanks and am making the house energy efficient. I like to be reasonably self-reliant.

    Anyhow, I appreciate help on the farm looking after the trees and vegetable garden, doing landscaping, building, planting, beekeeping and lots more! I want people who are genuinely interested in sustainable living. This place is about sustainability, if that isn't your thing then you might find it hard - If you prefer bottled water to rainwater, and packaged food to food from the garden, then It might not suit you. :O)

    There are no city lights, traffic noise or barking dogs here. You can go on walks in the forest nearby and around neighbouring farms. I have a wood fire, a fine veranda for sitting and contemplating and a hammock in the trees to escape the summer heat. There are wineries up the road to visit. This really is some of the most idyllic countryside you can imagine.

    It is very, very peaceful here, and if you like to retreat from a busy world, this is the place to do it. I have a job during the week so you will have it all to yourself during the day. You need to be a self starter and that does include getting yourself out of bed, people!

    I like playing the guitar and listening to music. I don't have a television, there are better things to do. I go for the odd run or walk in the forest, make home-brewed beer, bottle and dry fruit and work on the farm, I like good conversation and listening to travel stories and life stories. I can laugh at most things, mostly keep busy and really love living here. So will you.

    For those who don't know how the calendar works; RED means no availability that month, YELLOW means "part availability" i.e. partly full or not much need for volunteers at that time and GREEN means volunteers are probably needed! :O)

    Please be prepared to make a contribution. I think 25-30 hours work a week is a fair thing, and sometimes it is hot or wet, but work has to get done.

    We now can provide internet access!. If you have got this far, please mention ducks in your email so I know you have gone to the trouble to read this, and you know what the deal is. Thanks!

    "Though much is taken, much abides; and though
    We are not now that strength which in old days
    Moved earth and heaven, that which we are, we are,
    One equal temper of heroic hearts,
    Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
    To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield. "
    Lord Alfred Tennyson

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I've travelled to 25 countries and have lived in every State in Australia.

    As for sustainable living, you can learn about collecting and storing rainwater, growing fruit and vegetables organically, composting, pruning, harvesting, drying and bottling fruit without preservatives, bee keeping, making stuff, basic mechanics, plumbing, cutting and storing firewood, cooking and minimal disturbance bush care.

  • Help

    Help

    There are many things to do! You could work in the house, bottle fruit, mow the orchard, garden, do bee-keeping, landscaping, paving, stone walls, painting, vegetable gardening, fruit picking/pruning or shed stuff! I want to build an extension on the house; any builders out there?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little Arabic and Bahasa Indonesian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have two spare rooms in a small house. There are lovely places to camp if you like.

    PLEASE be aware that I am reliant on rainwater. I now have a big storage tank! Harah!! But just the same, economy with water is very important from October to April. So, you must be good at having short showers, not leaving the tap running unnecessarily etc. Just sensible water use, but not for some people it seems...... :O)
    This does mean you will be drinking rainwater. Yes, the stuff from the sky, people, and no, it is not 'treated'. It is beautiful and clear and much cleaner than the stuff that has passed through ten other people, run off agricultural land or come out of industrial estates and been through what passes for water purification. If you can’t drink rainwater, well what hope is there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of forest for hiking. The nearest bus stop is 5km and the nearest town is 11km. It is very relaxing here and you will need to enjoy the quiet. No TV but lots of birds and a beautiful environment. There are buses to/from Adelaide, I can usually get you from the bus stop. There is a wildlife park 13km away with tame kangaroos, koalas etc. I have plenty of good books that are worth reading, take one onto the veranda.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days maximum

Brown Tree Snake























Host ref number: 995524671246